PDA

View Full Version : Intel HD 4000: MBA vs rMBP 13




KimHansenDK
Apr 2, 2013, 12:17 PM
Is there a reason why the Intel HD 4000 has 768MB in the 13-inch rMBP and only 512MB in the MBA?

I mean, it is the same integrated chip and the same Ivy Bridge i5/i7 dual core processor and 8GB ram.

Just wondering...



B...
Apr 2, 2013, 03:55 PM
Because the Intel HD 4000 needs to run 3 million more pixels on the rMBP than the MBA.

KimHansenDK
Apr 2, 2013, 11:42 PM
I know. But shouldn't it be possible to use the same 768MB in the MBA when it is the same ram and processor?

B...
Apr 3, 2013, 07:06 AM
Yeah, but it is not needed.

Idarzoid
Apr 10, 2013, 05:13 PM
If I remember correctly, the more RAM you have, the amount of video memory increases.

KimHansenDK
Apr 11, 2013, 03:44 PM
But both machines have 8GB ram.

B...
Apr 11, 2013, 04:03 PM
Does it matter? It might decrease performance in GPU intensive activities, like video editing. But an Air was never meant for that because of its 1.8 GHz ULV processor. The Pro is much more capable as it has a 2.5 GHz full voltage processor which may not perform much higher in GeekBench, but makes it a much better computer all-around, especially with its screen, I/O, processor, etc.

LeeM
Apr 12, 2013, 09:45 AM
13" pro maxes out at 512mb as well. its probably overclocked in the retina to power the screen or somethin

----------

and oddly, my 11" with hd4000 and only 4gb ram is at 512mb. when my pro had the same hd4000 and 4gb ram it was 368mb or something. odd