PDA

View Full Version : How to turn off single click to open folders/files

Trifle James
Apr 5, 2013, 05:06 PM
Hi there,

I'm new to all this so sorry if I'm doing anything wrong.

On my Mac Pro (10.8.2) using my magic mouse, when I double click a folder it opens as you would expect. That's all fine, but after this, it only takes a single click to open the folders or files. This is extremely annoying as I will double click to open a folder, then double click again to find I have accidentally opened a folder and then a file within it which wastes time.

Is there a way I can turn this feature off?

Thanks in advance.

Thrash911
Apr 6, 2013, 04:47 AM
Um.. Is it even possible to configure OS X to open files and folders with single click? I can't figure out how to do it.. :confused:

Try playing around with the mouse settings, especially the Double-Click Speed (System Preferences -> Mouse). See if that changes anything. Could it be possible, that your mouse is defective? Maybe try with another mouse?

Other than that, I'm out.. Maybe someone else can weigh in?

I hope you solve it, because OS X is a delight to use! :)

Trifle James
Apr 6, 2013, 08:25 AM
Um.. Is it even possible to configure OS X to open files and folders with single click? I can't figure out how to do it.. :confused:

Try playing around with the mouse settings, especially the Double-Click Speed (System Preferences -> Mouse). See if that changes anything. Could it be possible, that your mouse is defective? Maybe try with another mouse?

Thanks for the reply!