PDA

View Full Version : Best retro games?




GKDAIR
Apr 6, 2013, 10:51 PM
I love retro games, and I could really use some to play on my ipad



dancj
Apr 7, 2013, 08:27 AM
Retro Games as in old games or old style games or just any game with chunky pixellated graphics?

For the former, Another World. For the latter, Nimble Quest.

Giuly
Apr 7, 2013, 05:16 PM
The Sonic series has iOS ports (Sonic 1 (http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/sonic-the-hedgehog/id316025912?mt=8), Sonic 2 (http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/sonic-the-hedgehog-2/id347411942?mt=8), Sonic CD (http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/sonic-cd/id454316134?mt=8), Sonic 4 HD: Episode I (https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/sonic-the-hedgehog-4-episode/id478899198?mt=8), Sonic 4: Episode 2 (http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/sonic-hedgehog-4-episode-ii/id511332635?mt=8)), and somebody recently announced a remastered version of Sonic 1.

Final Fantasy (https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/final-fantasy/id354972939?mt=8) I-V are also available, there's a Street Fighter II Collection (http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/street-fighter-ii-collection/id459660048?mt=8), R-Type (http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/r-type/id386437755?mt=8), Chrono Trigger (http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/chrono-trigger/id479431697?mt=8), Duke Nukem 3D (http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/duke-nukem-3d/id325995561?mt=8), Earthworm Jim (http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/earthworm-jim/id334838620?mt=8), Final Fight (http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/final-fight/id459663198?mt=8), Megaman X (http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/mega-man-x/id469343097?mt=8), Golden Axe (http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/golden-axe/id319600514?mt=8), Secret of Mana (http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/secret-of-mana/id407949800?mt=8), The Simpsons Arcade (http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/the-simpsons-arcade/id344217468?mt=8), X-Men (http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/x-men/id430997669?mt=8) and probably 100s more that would be worth mentioning.

However, the iPad's touch interface is obnoxious at times, so something like the iCade 8-bitty (http://amzn.to/10G4JFu) comes in handy.
http://a.tgcdn.net/images/products/zoom/ecea_icade_8_bitty_controller_final.jpghttp://a.tgcdn.net/images/products/additional/large/ecea_icade_8_bitty_controller_final_inplay.jpg
It's supported by Atari, Namco, Midway and Activision arcade games, among others. If you're jailbroken, you can add support for most retro games around.

annaharris
Apr 10, 2013, 07:07 AM
I love PAC-MAN. It is my favorite retro game.