Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Perception78

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 9, 2013
Hi everyone, this is my first time posting on here so hope i'm putting this thread in the right place...and secondly i don't have a mac so hope i'm not going outside of the 'guidelines'.

I'm using a jailbroken iphone 4 on 6.1.2 and windows 7.

I have searched extensively on the web for this issue, but have not been able to find a fix that works for my situation.

I synced my iphone's bookmarks to Internet Explorer via tunes, this must have copied over the bookmarks bar and bookmarks menu to my iphone, i then re-enabled icloud sync for safari on my phone which then pushed these 2 folders to the CLOUD. As we all know these 2 folders cannot be deleted from the phone itself. I can delete them from internet explorer and then re-sync via itunes which removes them from the iphone, BUT that requires icloud safari sync to be turned off, and as soon as i turn it back on, the folders reappear!

I'm looking for a way to delete them from the cloud.

I did install icloud control panel for windows thinking i could delete the folders from the internet explorer cloud side of things and the change would be reflected on my iphone, but this doesn't work because:

a) enabling IE bookmarks sync on the icloud control panel creates a duplicate set of bookmarks on the phone. It basically pushes from IE to the phone the same set that were synced with IE initially via itunes. I can delete the duplicated set and the change is reflected on iphone, but the initial set is still stuck on the phone.