PDA

View Full Version : Alpha Tool in Preview




Bat Drive
Apr 12, 2013, 03:15 PM
In Preview v6.0.1, where can I find the Alpha tool?



GGJstudios
Apr 12, 2013, 03:22 PM
In Preview v6.0.1, where can I find the Alpha tool?
Is it not in the select tool list?
407537

Bat Drive
Apr 12, 2013, 03:51 PM
I do not have a "select tool" icon in my toolbar. Nor can I find such an icon in the "customize toolbar" dropdown menu in View.

Here's what my toolbar looks like:

GGJstudios
Apr 12, 2013, 03:55 PM
I do not have a "select tool" icon in my toolbar. Nor can I find such an icon in the "customize toolbar" dropdown menu in View.

Here's what my toolbar looks like:
With an image file open in Preview, click the 'Show Edit Toolbar' button in the toolbar (looks like a box with a pencil in it) - all your selection tools should appear on a secondary toolbar beneath the main one.
407541

Mac 101: Editing Images | Mac|Life (http://www.maclife.com/article/howtos/mac_101_editing_images)

Bat Drive
Apr 12, 2013, 04:22 PM
I appreciate your patience and direction, but, as you can see from the attached grab, I don't have that icon in my my Show Edit Toolbar. Nor do I see a way to add it.

GGJstudios
Apr 12, 2013, 04:25 PM
I appreciate your patience and direction, but, as you can see from the attached grab, I don't have that icon in my my Show Edit Toolbar. Nor do I see a way to add it.
And you have an image file open? Or just the Preview app open with no file?

You might have success by deleting the .plist and relaunching Preview. It should be located in the following path:
/Users/yourusername/Library/Preferences/com.apple.Preview.plist

Bat Drive
Apr 12, 2013, 04:39 PM
Yes, I have a PDF opened in Preview. I did not find the plist file you mentioned. However, there were these, which I deleted after quitting Preview. Launching the app returned them.

com.apple.Preview.LSSharedFileList.plist
com.apple.Preview.SandboxedPersistentURLs.LSSharedFileList.plist

After relaunching Preview, I still do not have a "select tool" icon.

Thanks for your assistance. I guess I'll just continue to use PDFPen.

benwiggy
Apr 13, 2013, 02:57 AM
Yes, I have a PDF opened in Preview.
You can't use Instant Alpha on a PDF. Only image formats, like PNG, TIFF, etc.

GGJstudios
Apr 13, 2013, 12:17 PM
Yes, I have a PDF opened in Preview.
As benwiggy stated, instant alpha is not available for PDFs. That's why I asked:

And you have an image file open? Or just the Preview app open with no file?