PDA

View Full Version : Installing Tiger On PowerMac G5 Hard Drive Issues




Cisherwood321
Apr 14, 2013, 08:58 AM
I have encountered an issue while trying to install Tiger from a DVD to a Powermac G5 2.0GHz. After I insert the disc, it boots fine and loads up the Tiger installer. After I select a language, I continue until I must a location to install Mac OS X. The problem is, no hard detected. I cannot select anything from this menu. So I reboot and in the installer use the Disk Utility Tool to try to format the drive, and it still isn't displayed. I'm pretty sure I installed it correctly, and I don't know what the issue is. Please help, I will give you any other details you need. Thanks!



drorpheus
Apr 14, 2013, 10:02 PM
what kind of hard drive is it? make model size?

rabidz7
Apr 15, 2013, 03:44 PM
I have encountered an issue while trying to install Tiger from a DVD to a Powermac G5 2.0GHz. After I insert the disc, it boots fine and loads up the Tiger installer. After I select a language, I continue until I must a location to install Mac OS X. The problem is, no hard detected. I cannot select anything from this menu. So I reboot and in the installer use the Disk Utility Tool to try to format the drive, and it still isn't displayed. I'm pretty sure I installed it correctly, and I don't know what the issue is. Please help, I will give you any other details you need. Thanks!

You need a SATA card for SATA 3 drives.
This happens because the mobo's sata controller cannot aggregate link bandwidth with your hard drive.

MisterKeeks
Apr 15, 2013, 08:25 PM
You need a SATA card for SATA 3 drives.
This happens because the mobo's sata controller cannot aggregate link bandwidth with your hard drive.

Not always.

OP: Try the disk utility again. Boot up, wipe, x out of Disk Utility, and see if it still doesn't show up.

Intell
Apr 15, 2013, 08:50 PM
You need a SATA card for SATA 3 drives.
This happens because the mobo's sata controller cannot aggregate link bandwidth with your hard drive.

Some SATA III drives, work just fine in a G5 if they are set to SATA I or II mode. However, most don't work at all. That being said, we still don't know what kind of hard drive the OP has. It could be the stock OEM drive for all we know.

rabidz7
Apr 16, 2013, 02:54 PM
I have encountered an issue while trying to install Tiger from a DVD to a Powermac G5 2.0GHz. After I insert the disc, it boots fine and loads up the Tiger installer. After I select a language, I continue until I must a location to install Mac OS X. The problem is, no hard detected. I cannot select anything from this menu. So I reboot and in the installer use the Disk Utility Tool to try to format the drive, and it still isn't displayed. I'm pretty sure I installed it correctly, and I don't know what the issue is. Please help, I will give you any other details you need. Thanks!

What hard drive is this.

Frost7
Apr 16, 2013, 04:08 PM
You need a SATA card for SATA 3 drives.
This happens because the mobo's sata controller cannot aggregate link bandwidth with your hard drive.
Incorrect. Depends solely on the drive, but most SATA-3 devices are supposed to be backward compatible with SATA-1 and SATA-2.

Both of my G5's drives are SATA-3 and worked straight out of the box on the logic board's SATA-1 controller.

rabidz7
Apr 17, 2013, 02:56 PM
Incorrect. Depends solely on the drive, but most SATA-3 devices are supposed to be backward compatible with SATA-1 and SATA-2.

Both of my G5's drives are SATA-3 and worked straight out of the box on the logic board's SATA-1 controller.

Some drives automatically throttle the link speed when they detect there is an a link aggregation issue; some drives do not throttle. Some drives that do not throttle automatically can be made to throttle with jumpers.

If the drive does not throttle automatically and has no jumpers then a SATA card is needed.