Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

beloportuga

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 14, 2002
Hi,

My name is Manuel and I'm a Graphic/New Media Designer.

I've just set up my own company, and finally I've earned some money that allows me to buy a new G4. Altought I just feel like rushing to the store and bring home the Mac I've always dreamed of, I'm afraid this might not be a wise decision since the Mac World in San Francisco starts on the 6th of January, and it's usually a good opportunity for Apple to present new hardware.

Should I wait?? When is the G5 supposed to come out?

Please help me. Thanks.

Tiauguinho

macrumors 6502a
Mar 5, 2002
The Netherlands
Hello Manuel! First off, welcome to Macrumors!

Well IMHO, you should wait for February for a new PowerMac G4 update( thats when its expected to be updated). New things are coming in 2003... there are a lot of talking about the new PPC970 ( Check this link too see the baby: http://www-3.ibm.com/chips/products/powerpc/newsletter/dec2002/newproductfocus2.html)

But you have to see what are your needs... You know that new products take time to arrive at Portugal, and you have to weight all this stuff... If I were you I would wait... its just some weeks... You wont regret on waiting believe me...

P.S. É bom ver aqui um português! LOL

solvs

macrumors 603
Jun 25, 2002
LaLaLand, CA
G5 won't be out for awhile (if ever). The IBM 970 might not be out until late next year (if that). If you can wait for a little while, say a few weeks after MWSF, they may release something new and/or lower prices. Just be aware that if you wait, you could be waiting for a long time. If you need one now, and can afford it, get one now. Even if one is release in a few weeks, you'll have had the time to use it. And who says if they do release a new one, it'll be available right away.

Choices, choices.