PDA

View Full Version : Adding memory to G5 PPC




syrose
Apr 17, 2013, 12:08 AM
ADDING MEMORY
Please I use my G5 10.4.11 Tiger PowerPC G5 (1.1)
CPU Speed:2 GHz with iMovie 6.0.3 for video editing.
I need step-by-step instructions for safely add up to 16 GB memory.
Sincerely,
Sally Syrose



justperry
Apr 17, 2013, 12:24 AM
ADDING MEMORY
Please I use my G5 10.4.11 Tiger PowerPC G5 (1.1)
CPU Speed:2 GHz with iMovie 6.0.3 for video editing.
I need step-by-step instructions for safely add up to 16 GB memory.
Sincerely,
Sally Syrose

Only the Last model PowerMac G5 can take 16 GB, it is the PowerMac model 11.2.
If this is the case go to iFixit.com and search for the model, it will show you how.

Installing Power Mac G5 Memory (http://www.ifixit.com/Guide/Installing+Power+Mac+G5+Memory/1954/1)

Mac Hammer Fan
Apr 19, 2013, 09:16 AM
How many memory banks does your PowerMac have?
Is it a 2004 or 2005 model (not dual core), then it can have 8 GB RAM if there are 8 banks and 4 GB RAM if there are 4 banks.
If you have a dual core or quad core, then 16 GB is possible.

Lil Chillbil
Apr 19, 2013, 11:45 AM
ADDING MEMORY
Please I use my G5 10.4.11 Tiger PowerPC G5 (1.1)
CPU Speed:2 GHz with iMovie 6.0.3 for video editing.
I need step-by-step instructions for safely add up to 16 GB memory.
Sincerely,
Sally Syrose

Why do I not want to believe you when you say that you use that g5 for video editing in imovie 06, one of the worst video editors ever. And now you say that you need 16 gigs of memory to run this said video editor. When in reality a g4 dual 1.25ghz with 1 gig of ram and decent graphics card won't even break a sweat running that program.

Then theres the name thing, when was the last time I saw someone whos first and last name started with the same letter they were trolls. Finally you are running tiger on your very capable g5 computer which again makes me think that somethings up

just my 2 cents

PowerPCMacMan
Apr 19, 2013, 12:28 PM
Yeah, its kinda fishy also... The OP says its a G5 PowerPC 1.1 and yet its running Tiger. Shouldn't it be running Leopard?? I know a dual core Late 2005 G5 is more than capable of video editing under iMovie 06 HD, but it also can make use of iMovie 08 as well..


Why do I not want to believe you when you say that you use that g5 for video editing in imovie 06, one of the worst video editors ever. And now you say that you need 16 gigs of memory to run this said video editor. When in reality a g4 dual 1.25ghz with 1 gig of ram and decent graphics card won't even break a sweat running that program.

Then theres the name thing, when was the last time I saw someone whos first and last name started with the same letter they were trolls. Finally you are running tiger on your very capable g5 computer which again makes me think that somethings up

just my 2 cents

rickvanr
Apr 19, 2013, 01:26 PM
a troll that joined in 2006, that's a serious long con

jbarley
Apr 19, 2013, 03:00 PM
A little research before calling someone a "troll" would be nice.
It took all of 5 seconds to see the the OP joined in 2006, (as noted above) and has made several posts since then, none of which raised the 'troll flag', so it's beyond me as why this post should be considered as anything more then someone asking for help.

Lil Chillbil
Apr 19, 2013, 06:15 PM
A little research before calling someone a "troll" would be nice.
It took all of 5 seconds to see the the OP joined in 2006, (as noted above) and has made several posts since then, none of which raised the 'troll flag', so it's beyond me as why this post should be considered as anything more then someone asking for help.

2006 still known as a newbie, obviously we are dealing with someone who joined long ago then disappeared when they came back to troll

MisterKeeks
Apr 19, 2013, 07:21 PM
2006 still known as a newbie, obviously we are dealing with someone who joined long ago then disappeared when they came back to troll

:confused:

Just because you don't like iMovie 06 and you believe he is overshooting the hardware requirements doesn't make him a troll. That makes him someone asking for help on an online forum. I Tri-boot my 2.7 G5 with Tiger and Leopard.

And for the record, your username starts and ends with the same letter.

Lil Chillbil
Apr 19, 2013, 07:23 PM
:confused:

Just because you don't like iMovie 06 and you believe he is overshooting the hardware requirements doesn't make him a troll. That makes him someone asking for help on an online forum. I Tri-boot my 2.7 G5 with Tiger and Leopard.

And for the record, your username starts and ends with the same letter.

For the record you mis-read my post :rolleyes:

PowerPCMacMan
Apr 19, 2013, 07:24 PM
I prefer iMovie 08!

:confused:

Just because you don't like iMovie 06 and you believe he is overshooting the hardware requirements doesn't make him a troll. That makes him someone asking for help on an online forum. I Tri-boot my 2.7 G5 with Tiger and Leopard.

And for the record, your username starts and ends with the same letter.

MisterKeeks
Apr 19, 2013, 07:26 PM
Then theres the name thing, when was the last time I saw someone whos first and last name started with the same letter they were trolls.

For the record you mis-read my post :rolleyes:

I realize that your post said First and Last name, not username. I just thought that it was an interesting coincidence.

What do you think about my other points?

Lil Chillbil
Apr 19, 2013, 07:32 PM
I realize that your post said First and Last name, not username. I just thought that it was an interesting coincidence.

What do you think about my other points?

I think you have about as much decent points as the governor of new jersey,

but seriously, I run lots of games way over speced like quake, but a g5 running 06 just doesn't seem right to me

MisterKeeks
Apr 19, 2013, 07:38 PM
I think you have about as much decent points as the governor of new jersey,



That could go either way, depending on who you are. Was that criticism or a complement? :D

syrose
May 3, 2013, 05:27 AM
Please accept my apologies for this enormously late returning to this thread.
Let me also thank the forum members that bothered to address my query.
Different things prevented me from returning to this issue and I have not read the replies until now.
These are the specs of my PPC (Copy/pasted from my About This Mac):

Machine Name:Power Mac G5
Machine Model:PowerMac11,2
CPU Type:PowerPC G5 (1.1)
Number Of CPUs:2
CPU Speed:2 GHz
L2 Cache (per CPU):1 MB
Memory: 7 GB
Bus Speed:1 GHz
Boot ROM Version: 5.2.7f1
Serial Number:CK60304JUUY

MEMORY:

DIMM0/J6700:

Size: 1 GB
Type: DDR2 SDRAM
Speed: PC2-4200U-444
Status: OK

DIMM1/J6800:

Size: 1 GB
Type: DDR2 SDRAM
Speed: PC2-4200U-444
Status: OK

DIMM2/J6900:

Size: 512 MB
Type: DDR2 SDRAM
Speed: PC2-4200U-444
Status: OK

DIMM3/J7000:

Size: 512 MB
Type: DDR2 SDRAM
Speed: PC2-4200U-444
Status: OK

DIMM4/J7100:

Size: 1 GB
Type: DDR2 SDRAM
Speed: PC2-3200U-288
Status: OK

DIMM5/J7200:

Size: 1 GB
Type: DDR2 SDRAM
Speed: PC2-3200U-288
Status: OK

DIMM6/J7300:

Size: 1 GB
Type: DDR2 SDRAM
Speed: PC2-3200U-288
Status: OK

DIMM7/J7400:

Size: 1 GB
Type: DDR2 SDRAM
Speed: PC2-3200U-288
Status: OK


Model:HL-DT-ST DVD-RW GWA-4165B
Revision:C006
Serial Number:AA4673C8CF2B
Detachable Drive: No
Protocol: ATAPI
Unit Number: 0
Socket Type: Internal

Model: HL-DT-ST DVD-RW GWA-4165B
Revision: C006
Serial Number: AA4673C8CF2B
Detachable Drive: No
Protocol: ATAPI
Unit Number: 0
Socket Type: Internal

bcom5714:

Type: network
Bus: PCI
Slot: GIGE
Vendor ID: 0x14e4
Device ID: 0x166a
Subsystem Vendor ID: 0x106b
Subsystem ID: 0x0085
Revision ID: 0x0003

bcom5714:

Type: network
Bus: PCI
Slot: GIGE
Vendor ID: 0x14e4
Device ID: 0x166a
Subsystem Vendor ID: 0x106b
Subsystem ID: 0x0085
Revision ID: 0x0003

GeForce 6600LE:

Name: NVDA,Display-B
Type: display
Bus: PCI
Slot: SLOT-1
Vendor ID: 0x10de
Device ID: 0x0142
Subsystem Vendor ID: 0x10de
Subsystem ID: 0x0010
ROM Revision: 2149
Revision ID: 0x00a4
Now I hope to be able to start working once again.
My computer is unstable and sluggish.
I use OnyX and iDefrag.
I cannot afford buying a new computer.
I'm advised that increasing memory from 7 GB to the maximum 16 (replacing the 8 memory sticks with 2 GB) would help.
I could not obtain information as the type (model) as which memory sticks I need to purchase.
Sincerely,
Sally Syrose

Nameci
May 3, 2013, 05:35 AM
Please accept my apologies for this enormously late returning to this thread.
Let me also thank the forum members that bothered to address my query.
Different things prevented me from returning to this issue and I have not read the replies until now.
These are the specs of my PPC (Copy/pasted from my About This Mac):

Machine Name:Power Mac G5
Machine Model:PowerMac11,2
CPU Type:PowerPC G5 (1.1)
Number Of CPUs:2
CPU Speed:2 GHz
L2 Cache (per CPU):1 MB
Memory: 7 GB
Bus Speed:1 GHz
Boot ROM Version: 5.2.7f1
Serial Number:CK60304JUUY

MEMORY:

DIMM0/J6700:

Size: 1 GB
Type: DDR2 SDRAM
Speed: PC2-4200U-444
Status: OK

DIMM1/J6800:

Size: 1 GB
Type: DDR2 SDRAM
Speed: PC2-4200U-444
Status: OK

DIMM2/J6900:

Size: 512 MB
Type: DDR2 SDRAM
Speed: PC2-4200U-444
Status: OK

DIMM3/J7000:

Size: 512 MB
Type: DDR2 SDRAM
Speed: PC2-4200U-444
Status: OK

DIMM4/J7100:

Size: 1 GB
Type: DDR2 SDRAM
Speed: PC2-3200U-288
Status: OK

DIMM5/J7200:

Size: 1 GB
Type: DDR2 SDRAM
Speed: PC2-3200U-288
Status: OK

DIMM6/J7300:

Size: 1 GB
Type: DDR2 SDRAM
Speed: PC2-3200U-288
Status: OK

DIMM7/J7400:

Size: 1 GB
Type: DDR2 SDRAM
Speed: PC2-3200U-288
Status: OK


Model:HL-DT-ST DVD-RW GWA-4165B
Revision:C006
Serial Number:AA4673C8CF2B
Detachable Drive: No
Protocol: ATAPI
Unit Number: 0
Socket Type: Internal

Model: HL-DT-ST DVD-RW GWA-4165B
Revision: C006
Serial Number: AA4673C8CF2B
Detachable Drive: No
Protocol: ATAPI
Unit Number: 0
Socket Type: Internal

bcom5714:

Type: network
Bus: PCI
Slot: GIGE
Vendor ID: 0x14e4
Device ID: 0x166a
Subsystem Vendor ID: 0x106b
Subsystem ID: 0x0085
Revision ID: 0x0003

bcom5714:

Type: network
Bus: PCI
Slot: GIGE
Vendor ID: 0x14e4
Device ID: 0x166a
Subsystem Vendor ID: 0x106b
Subsystem ID: 0x0085
Revision ID: 0x0003

GeForce 6600LE:

Name: NVDA,Display-B
Type: display
Bus: PCI
Slot: SLOT-1
Vendor ID: 0x10de
Device ID: 0x0142
Subsystem Vendor ID: 0x10de
Subsystem ID: 0x0010
ROM Revision: 2149
Revision ID: 0x00a4
Now I hope to be able to start working once again.
My computer is unstable and sluggish.
I use OnyX and iDefrag.
I cannot afford buying a new computer.
I'm advised that increasing memory from 7 GB to the maximum 16 (replacing the 8 memory sticks with 2 GB) would help.
I could not obtain information as the type (model) as which memory sticks I need to purchase.
Sincerely,
Sally Syrose

These is the specs for you memory...

2GB PC2 4200 CL4, make sure that it is low density and it is matched pair.

Below should work for you.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/4GB-2X2GB-MEMORY-256X64-PC2-4200-533MHZ-1-8V-NON-ECC-DDR2-240-PIN-DIMM-/140628256284?pt=US_Memory_RAM_&hash=item20be18e61c

syrose
May 3, 2013, 06:00 AM
Thank you Nameci for your prompt attention which is sincerely appreciated.
Have a nice weekend
Sally