PDA

View Full Version : Major AirDroid Update




Tinmania
Apr 25, 2013, 03:49 PM
Nice update to AirDroid this morning. You can now launch it from a browser: no more needing to have the app up and running beforehand. Great if your device is in another room, without AirDroid running, and you want to check a text or whatnot.

It can also work from any network, not just the same network the browser is on. However, that appears to be a premium feature. (Hard for me to tell as I got two months free for sharing about it on twitter.)

Other features are remote camera use, find my phone (including lock and wipe), and drag-and-drop in chrome 21 and higher. Improved are SMS (but still no MMS), photo access, and file transfer (finally can access ext sd without needing to be rooted).

I'm liking it so far. :)




Michael



fredaroony
Apr 25, 2013, 04:09 PM
Nice update to AirDroid this morning. You can now launch it from a browser: no more needing to have the app up and running beforehand. Great if your device is in another room, without AirDroid running, and you want to check a text or whatnot.

It can also work from any network, not just the same network the browser is on. However, that appears to be a premium feature. (Hard for me to tell as I got two months free for sharing about it on twitter.)

Other features are remote camera use, find my phone (including lock and wipe), and drag-and-drop in chrome 21 and higher. Improved are SMS (but still no MMS), photo access, and file transfer (finally can access ext sd without needing to be rooted).

I'm liking it so far. :)




Michael

Just trying it now and it's quite nice although it asked me to sign in quite a few times.

Tinmania
Apr 25, 2013, 04:14 PM
Just trying it now and it's quite nice although it asked me to sign in quite a few times.
Once you get setup that should go away. By using a sign-in system it can use push to launch the app if it is not loaded. Plus you don't need to worry about IP address anymore, unless you want to use lite mode.




Michael

fredaroony
Apr 25, 2013, 04:20 PM
Once you get setup that should go away. By using a sign-in system it can use push to launch the app if it is not loaded. Plus you don't need to worry about IP address anymore, unless you want to use lite mode.




Michael

Not sure I like this data quota now! Especially when using a LAN.

Tinmania
Apr 25, 2013, 04:24 PM
Not sure I like this data quota now! Especially when using a LAN.
The data quota thing counts on the same wifi network?? I am going to have to see what is not there in lite mode.

Edit: I just checked, after doing quite a bit with the app, including watching a few vids from the phone, and my usage is still zero. I wish they would explain this a little better.


Michael

fredaroony
Apr 25, 2013, 04:29 PM
The data quota thing counts on the same wifi network?? I am going to have to see what is not there in lite mode.



Michael

I've only tried it so far on my LAN and it started counting down. Just tested a file transfer and yes it does count on Wifi

Tinmania
Apr 25, 2013, 04:38 PM
I've only tried it so far on my LAN and it started counting down. Just tested a file transfer and yes it does count on Wifi
Strange that for me it hasn't... yet. But I am not very happy about the way the don't explain any of this.

That said, the lite mode seems to have all of the advanced features other than the find my phone stuff. And it is still free, naturally.

So I'll just use lite mode when on the same network. I can still launch the app using the login method, should it be in another room, but then immediately login via IP switching it to lite. I don't run into that situation too often anyway.



Michael

fredaroony
Apr 25, 2013, 04:48 PM
It's explained here as being free on the same network http://airdroid.com/page/share/

Still counting down for me so who knows.

Tinmania
Apr 25, 2013, 05:02 PM
It's explained here as being free on the same network http://airdroid.com/page/share/

Still counting down for me so who knows.
Maybe it is because today is the first day of rollout. My free two months is supposed to come with 1GB per month but when I look at my usage it says 0 out of 100 megabytes--should say 1 GB.

I'm waiting for a UPS delivery and am working from my home office today. Have my Note 2 looking out the front window, with airdroid running in camera mode. The speed is very good. Just about full-motion video.



Michael