Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

cosmosis9

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 28, 2013
Hello, i'm a graphic designer and want to buy a macbook air, however i'm finding difficult to know wich especifications to choose. I'm mostly working in illustrator, photoshop and indesign.. i dont edit videos... so can someone please advise on which of the following will suite for my needs please:
1. Processor:
1.8GHz Intel Dual-Core Core i5 Turbo Boost up to 2.8GHz or
2.0GHz Intel Dual-Core Core i7, Turbo Boost up to 3.2GHz

2. Memory:
4GB 1600MHz DDR3L SDRAM
8GB 1600MHz DDR3L SDRAM

3.Storage:
256GB Flash Storage
512GB Flash Storage

Thanks!!

thekev

macrumors 604
Aug 5, 2010
Go with the 8GB ram option. Creative suite takes a lot of ram no matter what. If it came with a 16 option, I would suggest that. Before anyone comments on the gpu, it's use in Photoshop, Illlustrator, and InDesign is trivial. The display on the Air isn't anywhere near as nice as the 13" rmbp in case that is also an option. The color temperature and viewing angles are closer to ideal. The only thing I'm not sure of is how those applications are scaled. They are pretty close in weight.

In terms of drive sizes, it depends how much space you need. No one else can answer that. Creative Suite will also use it as a scratch disk which could mean anywhere from a few hundred megabytes to a few GB during a session depending on your file sizes. Either way you want to maintain some free space on the drive, even with an SSD.

KimHansenDK

macrumors 6502
Jul 29, 2011
I use the 13" 2.0GHz/8GB/256GB as my main machine and I work as a full time Art Director / Digital Designer. It handles Photoshop, Illustrator and InDesign just fine - also large files. I have it hooked up to a 27" Thunderbolt display when doing serious work.