PDA

View Full Version : Macintosh HD cannot mount!




prashanthrockit
Apr 29, 2013, 11:24 AM
Hi,
My MacBook Pro recently crashed when I did a force shutdown, its very frusterating, it boots but there's a progress bar instead of the usual circling thing. After the progress bar completes, it shuts down. I tried Disk Utility by pressing cmd+r soon after the chime. It fails to repair the disk, And also can it remount. It says that it's unable to repair. I have some important files in the hard drive. So please tell me a solution to fix the hard drive without having to format the disk.



blueroom
Apr 29, 2013, 11:32 AM
Hence the importance of backing up your data.

One option would be to put a new HDD or SSD into your MBP and put the corrupt HDD in an external enclosure. Reinstall OSX using internet recovery or your OSX DVD.

This may give you a chance to get at that lost data. As an added bonus you can use reformat your old HDD and use it as a Time Machine backup.

Weaselboy
Apr 29, 2013, 12:26 PM
Hi,
My MacBook Pro recently crashed when I did a force shutdown, its very frusterating, it boots but there's a progress bar instead of the usual circling thing. After the progress bar completes, it shuts down. I tried Disk Utility by pressing cmd+r soon after the chime. It fails to repair the disk, And also can it remount. It says that it's unable to repair. I have some important files in the hard drive. So please tell me a solution to fix the hard drive without having to format the disk.

You might try a commercial disk repair tool like Disk Warrior.

MrMacMack
Apr 30, 2013, 07:58 AM
You could install Mac OS X onto a connected external. From there boot into the OS via the external and then try to mount the internal and copy the data that you need over to the external. From there, try to reinstall the OS on the internal after repartitioning it.