PDA

View Full Version : Am I too old to start programming?

WhiteIphone5
May 13, 2013, 04:55 PM
I have Zero programming/coding experience, no HTML, php, or java. I've been reading a few programming forums and it seems most programmers started at the age of 8+ years old. I came to US from Peru when I was 13, and have not been interested in technology until two years ago when I received my first iPhone. At the beginning of the year, I started to look into programming for iOS, but I know I need a background of programming before I start with Objective-C. But how do I start? I'm 20 years old and feel like its too late as there is tons of programming languages. I know It takes passion and love for programming, which I'm very interested in doing. Not for the money, but for the experience. In next year I will start taking programming college courses, but I want to have some background before I start. So another question would be, how do I start? What programming language do you recommend? Not only do I plan to create iOS apps, but websites as well. Thank you so much, and again I have no experience at all.

MegamanX
May 13, 2013, 05:06 PM
Short answer is no you are not.

Also programming languages are nothing more than syntax to me. I professionally develop right now I know and program in I want to say 4-5 different languages and of those 2 of them are professionally. in the next year I am looking to extend that to all of them. Picking up another programming language is pretty easy. To give you an idea I pick up and start producing pretty decent work in object c in 2-3 weeks. When I started in it I had never used the Xcode before or written a line of code in object c.

I had been out of school for about 6 months with my CS degree and been programming in yet another langage that I had never used before I started working. Also I did have a fair amount of java and android dev under my belt from school.