Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Tweetdezweet

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 16, 2013
Hi all, I am new to objective-c and mostly have experience in COBOL and Java.
As part of my internship project I have to connect a Mac computer with a custom build device over bluetooth.
All commands are sent through a bi-directional serial connection.
(9600 baud, 8 bit, no parity, no handshake)

The documentation on bluetooth was rather sparse but I did manage to get the devices to pair.
The most useful example I copied and tweaked as needed I found here.

On the Mac I am receiving data from the other device but it splits up the data incorrectly.
For instance when the state of the device changes it sends the following command over bluetooth:
w31CRLF, where w stands for state change and 31 are the parameters and CRLF is a Carriage Return followed by a LineFeed.

When I log the incoming data using the rfcommChannelData delegate method it only takes the alphanumeric value and logs the numerical + Carriage return separately, following by the LineFeed as in the following output in the console:

Code:
2013-05-15 16:56:20.581 TimeBurger[4144:303] received: w (1)
2013-05-15 16:56:20.589 TimeBurger[4144:303] received: 33
 (4)
2013-05-15 16:56:21.568 TimeBurger[4144:303] received: w (1)
2013-05-15 16:56:21.569 TimeBurger[4144:303] received: 31
 (4)
2013-05-15 16:56:22.190 TimeBurger[4144:303] received: w (1)
2013-05-15 16:56:22.191 TimeBurger[4144:303] received: 21
 (4)

note that I added the length passed to rfcommChannelData in the log to doublecheck the incorrect splitting up

the openConnection delegate method as I have it atm:
Code:
//Open the connection.
-(BOOL) openConnection:(BluetoothRFCOMMChannelID *) chanId{
    IOBluetoothRFCOMMChannel *channel;