Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Sir Ruben

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Jul 3, 2010
UK
I have been a fan of Apple products for many years and currently own an iPhone 5 which I am very happy with, However I am also a tech enthusiast who just loves gadgets of all kinds. With this in mind, I had the opportunity of acquiring a Samsung Galaxy S4 for next to nothing (compared to the retail price) so I decided I would unleash my inner geek and dual wield 2 top end smartphones, You know, for the lolz as they say.

8754683171_a21e7cd317_c.jpg
8755838912_492653a889_c.jpg

8754719933_b15743eea0_c.jpg

Previously back when I had an iPhone 4 I also had a Galaxy S2 which lasted a week before it went on eBay. At that time I felt that Android just wasnt up to scratch in general (think it was running Gingerbread at the time like many low end smartphones even now). I also didn't like the screen. Whilst bigger and more vibrant I felt the quality of the screen overall didn't compare well to the retina display when side by side.

So back to the present! I have forced myself to primarily use the S4 for a week to give it a solid run in, customise it, and just generally use it day to day. In doing this I have come across some interesting bits and bobs (some I didn't expect) so I thought Id start a thread in the hope of helping someone who may be on the fence. This post IS NOT for fanboy rants so lets try and keep this nice and friendly ok? What i will say before I get to my conclusion is that no matter which phone you have its swings and roundabouts. The are both very good phones and both have positive and negative points. A few of which I'll hopefully cover below.

Build Quality