PDA

View Full Version : PHP 3.x ready compiled?




MikeatOSX
May 23, 2013, 01:00 PM
Hi,
I'm running a Macmini1,1 with Snow Leopard server successfully since last year, but when I try to run concrete5 CMS, I alway get problems with captcha support, because of the known Freetype problem in PHP 3 on SL.
So I tried to compile PHP new as described on this site:
http://www.gen-x-design.com/archives/recompiling-php-5-3-on-snow-leopard-with-freetype-support/
but I always run into make: *** No targets specified and no makefile found. Stop.
So I tried a different method from the net, but still same error. :mad:

So my question is:
Is it possible, to copy ready compiled PHP files from a newer Mac OS X or download a complete compiled PHP version from elsewhere to solve this problem?

Thanks, Mike



ipsychedelic
May 23, 2013, 10:29 PM
This is probably not quite what you're looking for, but I suggest giving a shot to Macports.
I'm in the process of setting up my webserver at home (never tried on OS X before) and it's been painless.

Basically, after installing Macports (requires the free XCode command line tools), you'd install the ports php54 and php54-gd.
Of course, assuming you already got a working Apache server on localhost, or you installed it as well via MacPorts (there is (https://trac.macports.org/wiki/howto/MAMP) a Howto on their website for "MAMP").

MikeatOSX
May 24, 2013, 05:02 AM
Hmm, I'm already running a working Apache server with PHP, mySQL etc. since 8 months.
phpBB forum is running fine on it, also webtrees (php app). I only have problems with concrete5 + captcha. :(
Mamp is for installing a webserver on an client system, I think. I have SL Server.

ipsychedelic
May 24, 2013, 07:45 PM
You seem to be having trouble installing FreeType, which is available on the GD module.
All I'm saying is that, via MacPorts I was able to get PHP 5+GD running (I think for either Selfoss or TinyTinyRSS) without any hassle.

MAMP is just an umbrella term for Apache+MySQL+Php, with the M being Mac (I think, and on windows it's called WAMP). I believe there is a "install it all" thingy but I always like the hardcore way.

Since you are already running the "trifecta" then I guess MacPorts is not for you, but in case you see yourself stuck, there is ditching your old php install in favor of a "fresh" MacPorts install, where you'll get whatever Concrete5 is, running.

MikeatOSX
May 24, 2013, 08:42 PM
Hmm, that means: no copying from a newer system - which was my question...
What a pity!

Carlson-online
May 26, 2013, 03:33 AM
Hi,
I'm running a Macmini1,1 with Snow Leopard server successfully since last year, but when I try to run concrete5 CMS, I alway get problems with captcha support, because of the known Freetype problem in PHP 3 on SL.
So I tried to compile PHP new as described on this site:
http://www.gen-x-design.com/archives/recompiling-php-5-3-on-snow-leopard-with-freetype-support/
but I always run into
So I tried a different method from the net, but still same error. :mad:

So my question is:
Is it possible, to copy ready compiled PHP files from a newer Mac OS X or download a complete compiled PHP version from elsewhere to solve this problem?

Thanks, Mike


did you run ./configure first ? and if so, did it give you any warnings ?

MikeatOSX
May 26, 2013, 06:12 AM
did you run ./configure first ?
No, I didn't. Did only what was described in the link.

kryten2
May 26, 2013, 08:11 AM
No, I didn't. Did only what was described in the link.

Yes you did.

Quote from the link :

cd /src/pcre
tar -zxvf pcre-7.7.tar.gz
cd pcre-7.7
./configure --disable-shared --enable-static
make && make install DESTDIR=/src/pcre/pcre-local

MACOSX_DEPLOYMENT_TARGET=10.6
CFLAGS="-arch x86_64 -g -Os -pipe -no-cpp-precomp"
CCFLAGS="-arch x86_64 -g -Os -pipe"
CXXFLAGS="-arch x86_64 -g -Os -pipe"
LDFLAGS="-arch x86_64 -bind_at_load"
export CFLAGS CXXFLAGS LDFLAGS CCFLAGS MACOSX_DEPLOYMENT_TARGET
./configure --prefix=/usr \

Did you read the other's thoughts section from the link?

Beware of funny quote signs, and missing, or malformed dash characters above. The gist of this is correct, but donít just copy and paste it.

At what stage of the process do you run into the error?

MikeatOSX
May 26, 2013, 12:52 PM
"sudo make install"

And I read about someone, who got the same error as I:
ca.: makefile not found, no destination...

What confuses me:
I also run a forum (phpBB) for 8 months and chapta runs with no problems there, without a modified php. :-/

MikeatOSX
May 29, 2013, 06:02 AM
Problem solved, no need to update PHP:
as a new captcha I use "Are you a human" for concrete5. With little modifications that worked for me. See thread here:
http://www.concrete5.org/community/forums/installation/recaptcha-public-key-and-private-key-storage/#498695