PDA

View Full Version : Same app, many windows, CMD + '




lorcar
May 24, 2013, 01:39 PM
hi guys
new mac user here
some website -although your popup prevention- opens a new window, like tripadvisor for example.
BUt not always I know a new window is open...In Win i used to see TWO different icons of the same app on the bottom bar, while in Mac I only see one. How do I know or remember I have in fact a second window of the same app?
thanks in advance



w0lf
May 24, 2013, 01:55 PM
There are a few ways of doing this.

1) Right click on the icon in the dock. (should list all open windows as well as some basic options)

2) Most apps will list all open windows in the 'Window' toolbar menu.

3) Open mission control. (Will show all windows in your current 'Space' graphically)

4) Open application windows. (will show all windows of the current application graphically)

3 and 4 can be set to keys, mouse buttons or hot corners in system preferences 'Mission Control' tab.

lorcar
May 24, 2013, 05:46 PM
thanks
but all these require you to do something
i was wondering if there is anything that lets you know there is another window open, just watching, without you doing anything

old-wiz
May 24, 2013, 06:15 PM
That's something that annoys me as well - a window that pops under the current window and you don't see it. I haven't found a way around it though.

w0lf
May 24, 2013, 08:09 PM
thanks
but all these require you to do something
i was wondering if there is anything that lets you know there is another window open, just watching, without you doing anything

I'm not aware that such a thing exists.

If the real problem is pop under windows you should probably try just installing an adblock extension or try using a different browser.

Also if sites are doing this I would consider them 'questionable' and would probably avoid using them unless completely necessary. Plus if you know what site is causing the pop unders how hard could it be to click one button after using the site to make sure no pop-under ads were opened?

Additionally if you use Chrome and you know the site that is making pop unders you can just block javascript from running on that site and that should fix the issue. Or use an extension like:

https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/poper-blocker/bkkbcggnhapdmkeljlodobbkopceiche

lorcar
May 28, 2013, 05:05 PM
there might be situations in which you want to open a second window of the program you are running, it has not to be an annoying popup