PDA

View Full Version : Network accounts unavailable




HerrFledermaus
May 28, 2013, 04:20 AM
Hi there,

here's the situation: I have one iMac with Osx Lion and Osx server on it. I also have one Macbook Air. I want to login from this Air using the user accounts specified in Osx server. Both iMac and Macbook Air are on the same wireless network (Time Capsule) and receive an IP in the same range.

PROBLEM: although I added the DNS-server to the DNS server list on the Macbook Air, when booted it immediately tells me that the 'network accounts are unavailable'.

Running services on my Osx Server: dns, file sharing, open directory...

I kindof must be overlooking something. Has anyone any idea what that might be?



DJLC
May 28, 2013, 02:38 PM
At the school I work for it typically takes a few seconds to a few minutes for it to connect at the login screen and make network accounts available. It may help to login as a local admin, ensure network connectivity, then log back out and see. Failing that, see if it works over a wired connection.

neier
May 28, 2013, 06:05 PM
On the MBAir, you have to associate with the network account server.

In the System Prefs "Accounts" pane, click on "Login Options" near the bottom of the left side. Click the padlock at the bottom (if necessary), and then "Join" to the right, where it says "Network Account Server". Enter the name of the server which holds the accounts.

HerrFledermaus
May 29, 2013, 12:33 AM
Hello, tnx for the replies. I already joined the network and the server was in the list. After joining the network server, the light next to it is green. So that looks ok to me. Also, since it wasn't working, I played around with the options like SSL and such, but to no avail.

:mad:

HerrFledermaus
May 29, 2013, 12:47 AM
Maybe it is in issue regarding the Time Machine, which is also used as a dhcp server, router, ...

guzhogi
May 29, 2013, 02:02 PM
One rumor that I've heard, although I don't think it's accurate, is that you need to have the computer set up in Workgroup Manager. As I've said, I don't think that that's accurate so no promises.

HerrFledermaus
May 29, 2013, 02:38 PM
One rumor that I've heard, although I don't think it's accurate, is that you need to have the computer set up in Workgroup Manager. As I've said, I don't think that that's accurate so no promises.

Well, your idea looked promising. But I tried the following:

- made the users on the server part of Opendirectory group
- made the users on the server also part of both Network Users and Network Accounts

But still: the Macbook Air says right from when it boots: network accounts not available.

But I think this is one step in the right direction!

*EDIT: also noticed this in the help file:

Accounts you create in the Server app prior to setting up your server to host network accounts are local accounts.

This is maybe why it went wrong: now I should find the proper procedure to set up my Mac OsX Server to host network accounts...

HerrFledermaus
May 29, 2013, 03:07 PM
Hi there,

the problem is resolved. Probably something went wrong while installing the master opendirectory thing. I deleted all users and services (or turned them off), and took every step again. Now users can logon.

Thanks for all your help !