PDA

View Full Version : Plex Connect for ATV3




jmcgeejr
Jun 3, 2013, 12:08 AM
Just a heads up guys, some great progress in this utility, basically it hijacks apples dns requests for trailers and allows you to watch your plex through it. You do have to be a plexpass user to get the latest build that supports 5.1 but otherwise you can try it out if you want. I spent the night using it with multiple tv shows and a movie and it works great.



itickings
Jun 3, 2013, 12:51 AM
Looks very promising, will have to try that one. Thanks.

Unraid is not officially supported, but at least one post indicates it shouldn't be a problem (just a matter of installing Python and changing the port for the default web interface, sounds plausible and doable).

smellalot
Jun 3, 2013, 02:19 AM
This looks great, I was going to get an ATV3 anyway and use airplay, but this would be much better.

My question: what happens if I shut down my Plex server? Are DNS requests from the ATV to other pages like youtube or photostream going to idle forever since I shut down the ATV's DNS server?

Hopefully someone with this configuration can give this a try.

itickings
Jun 3, 2013, 02:31 AM
My question: what happens if I shut down my Plex server? Are DNS requests from the ATV to other pages like youtube or photostream going to idle forever since I shut down the ATV's DNS server?

From my understanding: You can shut down the Plex server as long as you leave PlexConnect running, everything else should still work fine. If you kill PlexConnect, you have to restore the AppleTV's to a normal DNS server or live with a crippled device.

smellalot
Jun 3, 2013, 02:52 AM
From my understanding: You can shut down the Plex server as long as you leave PlexConnect running, everything else should still work fine. If you kill PlexConnect, you have to restore the AppleTV's to a normal DNS server or live with a crippled device.

That's my understanding too. Of course I meant turn off the Mac running plex server (including plex connect). Maybe it's possible to send the DNS request to the router. The router could then try to connect to Plex Connect and in case that fails route the request to a secondary (the "ordinary") DNS.
Do you think this may be possible? I have a router running DD-WRT here.

itickings
Jun 3, 2013, 07:04 AM
That's my understanding too. Of course I meant turn off the Mac running plex server (including plex connect). Maybe it's possible to send the DNS request to the router. The router could then try to connect to Plex Connect and in case that fails route the request to a secondary (the "ordinary") DNS.
Do you think this may be possible? I have a router running DD-WRT here.

Possible? Most likely. Feasible? No idea, depends on your skills and on how much time you are willing to spend.

In my case I was actually thinking about simply running PlexConnect on my router instead since you don't have to run it on the same device as the Plex server...

smellalot
Jun 3, 2013, 07:13 AM
Possible? Most likely. Feasible? No idea, depends on your skills and on how much time you are willing to spend.

In my case I was actually thinking about simply running PlexConnect on my router instead since you don't have to run it on the same device as the Plex server...

That's even better. Are you running DD-WRT too?

institute
Jun 3, 2013, 08:22 AM
Ignore

itickings
Jun 3, 2013, 10:38 AM
That's even better. Are you running DD-WRT too?

No, not DD-WRT.

Besides, I guess it is not necessary to do something overly complex even if it can be fun to get stuff running on unsupported devices. An easier way to make it work would be to just add trailers.apple.com to the router's DNS table instead and point it to the "correct" server...

jmcgeejr
Jun 3, 2013, 02:26 PM
No, not DD-WRT.

Besides, I guess it is not necessary to do something overly complex even if it can be fun to get stuff running on unsupported devices. An easier way to make it work would be to just add trailers.apple.com to the router's DNS table instead and point it to the "correct" server...

THe only problem with this would be that trailers wouldnt work on any machine in your whole network if you redirected it via a router or ran the python script on the router. My guess will be that soon plex will implement PlexConnect as a built in option in PMS as a toggle and then you will just point your atv3 to the plex box as we do now.

itickings
Jun 3, 2013, 03:41 PM
THe only problem with this would be that trailers wouldnt work on any machine in your whole network if you redirected it via a router or ran the python script on the router. My guess will be that soon plex will implement PlexConnect as a built in option in PMS as a toggle and then you will just point your atv3 to the plex box as we do now.

...yeah, I'm aware of that issue if I do it the easy way with just a DNS entry in the router, but I never watch those trailers anyway. And if I did, it would be possible to return different addresses based on where the request originated. Not really interested in doing that since I have no use for it, but the configuration is theoretically possible.

Running the full Python stuff on the router wouldn't have that particular problem for long. A trivial addition to the script could make it return different results for different request origins. Sure, sounds like it would be a neat solution, but I wouldn't enjoy the added delay...

As for integrating the functionality into the main Plex Server, it wouldn't solve this particular problem anyway, right?

smellalot
Jun 4, 2013, 02:30 PM
No, not DD-WRT.

Besides, I guess it is not necessary to do something overly complex even if it can be fun to get stuff running on unsupported devices. An easier way to make it work would be to just add trailers.apple.com to the router's DNS table instead and point it to the "correct" server...

Thanks for your help!

If I do it this way, will DD-WRT use the standard DNS in case the Plex DNS is offline?

itickings
Jun 4, 2013, 04:29 PM
If I do it this way, will DD-WRT use the standard DNS in case the Plex DNS is offline?

Well, the point of doing it in that way is not having to mess with the DNS server at all. Sacrificing the trailers (for all devices on the network) makes everything else work normally at all times.

Small price to pay for convenience, I'd say... :cool:

maans88
Jun 5, 2013, 11:39 AM
how do i get this anyway? do i have to install it?

and does it work with ATV2? i have two of them, if this really works then I'm going to the apple store and grabbing me one.

jmcgeejr
Jun 5, 2013, 11:43 AM
how do i get this anyway? do i have to install it?

and does it work with ATV2? i have two of them, if this really works then I'm going to the apple store and grabbing me one.

Everything you need to know and links to all data within are here.

http://elan.plexapp.com/

The very first blog from elan.

smellalot
Jun 7, 2013, 12:28 PM
OK, my Apple TV 3 arrived today! Two days ago there was a special offer for 77 and I couldn't pass that deal.
This solution works like a charm! I'm so glad, no more carrying my Macbook around and remote controlling through the Rowmote App.

Just one question: how do I make that handy tool start in the background upon launching Plex (when I boot my Macbook)?

institute
Jun 8, 2013, 06:12 AM
Over on the Plex forums there is a thread that provides an Apple script that lets Plexconnect run in the background. Here is the link to the thread:

https://forums.plexapp.com/index.php?/topic/70149-Has-anyone-created-an-AppleScript/Application-to-launch-PlexConnect-at-startup?

Code cookies
Jun 8, 2013, 01:06 PM
Any one tried setting up a raspberry pi as a plex media server running plex connect for the apple tv yet?

Sgtarky
Jun 9, 2013, 07:31 PM
well, my atv3 will sit on the shelf now.. it really doesnt do much unless you want to pay for content, yeah airplay is nice but I rarely use it. I have followed the directions on using this plex connect. It seemed to work good on my macbook pro but it is not my media machine. I have a windows 7 media center, I set up plex connect on it, some times the movies will show up but nothing played then it would say accessing trailers. and ***** iTunes if i use it on mac it makes 2 copies of the movie the windows version seems to link it, but I have to drag and drop each movie i want and lately when I move a movie to it it never shows up, I never see progress bar of it importing or an error message. I will use my roku from now on until they unlock or at least have some free options on the apple tv , the only thing i was using it for was netflix

jmcgeejr
Jun 9, 2013, 08:59 PM
well, my atv3 will sit on the shelf now.. it really doesnt do much unless you want to pay for content, yeah airplay is nice but I rarely use it. I have followed the directions on using this plex connect. It seemed to work good on my macbook pro but it is not my media machine. I have a windows 7 media center, I set up plex connect on it, some times the movies will show up but nothing played then it would say accessing trailers. and ***** iTunes if i use it on mac it makes 2 copies of the movie the windows version seems to link it, but I have to drag and drop each movie i want and lately when I move a movie to it it never shows up, I never see progress bar of it importing or an error message. I will use my roku from now on until they unlock or at least have some free options on the apple tv , the only thing i was using it for was netflix

Bummer sorry to hear that mate, so far so good for me, win 7 x64 SP1, running pms 9.8 with the latest version of plexconnect, I had to edit one of the files to get it to launch due to port 49152 already being in use but otherwise it's been rock solid for me.

GarrettL1979
Jun 9, 2013, 10:21 PM
Does plex connect allow you to access files from a NAS without a computer in the mix? That would be cool.

jmcgeejr
Jun 9, 2013, 10:22 PM
Does plex connect allow you to access files from a NAS without a computer in the mix? That would be cool.

You will ALWAYS need something running plex media server whether it's a supported NAS or a computer. And for right now the only decent revesion of plexconnect is to run on a mac or windows box, linux support has been very limited.

technowar
Jun 9, 2013, 11:22 PM
Does plex connect allow you to access files from a NAS without a computer in the mix? That would be cool.

That would depend on what NAS you have. I think Synology NAS have bugs on them, but QNAP NAS works fine. You may refer to this link: http://forums.plexapp.com/index.php/topic/70373-plexconnect-running-on-a-qnap-nas/. x86 for ReadyNAS here also: http://forums.plexapp.com/index.php/topic/70190-plexconnect-on-a-nas-drive-readynas/?p=406097

Sgtarky
Jun 10, 2013, 07:16 AM
i just dont know why atv doesnt have a plex app instead of us jailbreaking or doing other work arounds

98EXL
Jun 10, 2013, 06:04 PM
Over on the Plex forums there is a thread that provides an Apple script that lets Plexconnect run in the background. Here is the link to the thread:

https://forums.plexapp.com/index.php?/topic/70149-Has-anyone-created-an-AppleScript/Application-to-launch-PlexConnect-at-startup?

awaiting it to get a little more refined....

Other than that, been running this no problem for a few days, dunno if I like it compared to just using iTunes as my media server

jmcgeejr
Jun 10, 2013, 06:07 PM
awaiting it to get a little more refined....

Other than that, been running this no problem for a few days, dunno if I like it compared to just using iTunes as my media server

Most people who are already on itunes wont find themselves migrating until they want to start watching tv wherever whenever and on whatever device they wish. I too used itunes for a while until when traveling I realized I couldnt watch my shows. After messing around with xbmc for years along came plex and I jumped right in, many many years later I couldnt ever go back.

Ludatyk
Jun 19, 2013, 02:27 PM
Having issues with the Terminal method of the instructions...

From the instructions.. I type "cd" along with bringing the PlexConnect-XML_templates over to the Terminal window.

When I follow through with that method I get no such file or directory..

jmcgeejr
Jun 19, 2013, 02:43 PM
Having issues with the Terminal method of the instructions...

From the instructions.. I type "cd" along with bringing the PlexConnect-XML_templates over to the Terminal window.

When I follow through with that method I get no such file or directory..

Nix that I saw terminal now.

institute
Jun 19, 2013, 06:16 PM
Try bringing just the Plexconnect.py into terminal

pavelbure
Jun 19, 2013, 06:57 PM
Anyone know if todays update prevents this plex hack from working or does it still work ?

institute
Jun 19, 2013, 07:07 PM
Still works

----------

Reportedly, it also works with the ATV iOS developers beta 5.4 as well

98EXL
Jun 19, 2013, 10:01 PM
Most people who are already on itunes wont find themselves migrating until they want to start watching tv wherever whenever and on whatever device they wish. I too used itunes for a while until when traveling I realized I couldnt watch my shows. After messing around with xbmc for years along came plex and I jumped right in, many many years later I couldnt ever go back.

Hmmm, interesting point. I'm curious as to what you are cooking up over there...

When you say, "watch my shows," I assume that you are DVRing via TiVo (like me) or WMC or the like, and transferring to a server of sorts, then having that auto add to your Plex library?

For me, us, at least, all we use on the go are a gazillion streaming apps, or for "real" tv, 2 Slingbox ProHDs. We also keep the stash of movies on our iPads that rotate over time....and a Synology DS1512+ is coming soon, so I assume the Video App will stream all of our video.

Anyone know if todays update prevents this plex hack from working or does it still work ?

confirmed at home, HBO GO on all 3, woooo-hoooooo!

Michael241189
Jun 22, 2013, 01:02 PM
Do i have to launch terminal everytime I want to access plex on my ATV3? makes it too long winded. Anyways I can get terminal to remember the process ect.?

jmcgeejr
Jun 22, 2013, 01:26 PM
Do i have to launch terminal everytime I want to access plex on my ATV3? makes it too long winded. Anyways I can get terminal to remember the process ect.?

Yes, but you could make it into a startup item with automator

institute
Jun 22, 2013, 03:20 PM
There is also an AppleScript that can be put in login items. There is a thread in the Plexconnect thread on Plex forums.

Michael241189
Jun 23, 2013, 08:01 AM
Yes, but you could make it into a startup item with automator

sorry to be a pain, but anychance you could explain how I'd do that?

Sgtarky
Jun 27, 2013, 08:36 PM
why cant the atv3 have a real plex app? i have tried to do this , i would show me the librarys but as of yet nothing played on it. i said screwit and plugged in my roku. atv3 is just about useless unless you got to have airplay

Dalton63841
Jun 27, 2013, 08:56 PM
why cant the atv3 have a real plex app? i have tried to do this , i would show me the librarys but as of yet nothing played on it. i said screwit and plugged in my roku. atv3 is just about useless unless you got to have airplay

Did you go into the Plex Connect settings on the AppleTV and turn on force transcoding? My guess is that your files aren't native AppleTV supported. I set up Plex connect right after it first became a thing and it works perfectly for me, but my entire library is h.264 encoded mp4's.

jmcgeejr
Jun 27, 2013, 11:03 PM
why cant the atv3 have a real plex app? i have tried to do this , i would show me the librarys but as of yet nothing played on it. i said screwit and plugged in my roku. atv3 is just about useless unless you got to have airplay

Apple wont let there be a plex app that's why, sorry plexconnect isnt working for you, mine works with various files, mkv rips, avi's, mp4s, all with various forms of audio as well.

ctyrider
Jul 2, 2013, 12:24 PM
People got PlexConnect working on Synology NAS now, see this post:

http://forums.plexapp.com/index.php/topic/72356-plexconnect-on-synology/

As far as I am concerned, a full media server on a small NAS device is the ultimate solution.

NMF
Jul 26, 2013, 10:48 AM
Is there any benefit to me using this if I already rip my own blu-rays, encode them with Handbrake and stream them from iTunes? I'm trying to figure out the benefit of using Plex over the default playback methods. Maybe I'm missing something here?

Would it be possible to link to a ripped movie's trailer from the Plex library? That would be useful I suppose. Or if it would let me display the Rotten Tomatoes score natively without having to muck up the film's description.

Is there anything like that?

institute
Jul 26, 2013, 10:59 AM
In your situation, Plexconnect's main benefit would be the better UI offered, compared to iTunes, for browsing and organizing your media. I also found it gives flexibility in terms of where you store your media, and, of course, allows you to play formats that cannot be handled by the Apple TV. Most of my media is iTunes/ATV compatible but not all. I also use Plex Channels more than I thought I would, this includes video streaming services like Icefilms and LetMeWatchThis.


I suggest you try it out and see what it offers.

mic j
Jul 26, 2013, 11:21 AM
In your situation, Plexconnect's main benefit would be the better UI offered, compared to iTunes, for browsing and organizing your media. I also found it gives flexibility in terms of where you store your media, and, of course, allows you to play formats that cannot be handled by the Apple TV. Most of my media is iTunes/ATV compatible but not all. I also use Plex Channels more than I thought I would, this includes video streaming services like Icefilms and LetMeWatchThis.


I suggest you try it out and see what it offers.
Doesn't it have to convert non-h.264 formats on the fly to be playable through the aTV? My experience with on the fly conversion is...well, less than ideal. Is Plex better at this than say, AirParrot?

manutd27
Jul 26, 2013, 05:38 PM
I'm really confused here, what does plex actually do?!

Can I not put my dvd-ripped tv shows and movies on the home videos section of itunes and watch on Apple tv? Isn't this all what plex does? :S

Dalton63841
Jul 26, 2013, 05:53 PM
I'm really confused here, what does plex actually do?!

Can I not put my dvd-ripped tv shows and movies on the home videos section of itunes and watch on Apple tv? Isn't this all what plex does? :S

Better UI, On-the-fly transcoding(not everyone stores in iTunes compatible formats), and automatic metadata scraping.

manutd27
Jul 26, 2013, 05:57 PM
Better UI, On-the-fly transcoding(not everyone stores in iTunes compatible formats), and automatic metadata scraping.

Thank you! However, without meaning to sound like a complete doofus, may I ask what second and third terms mean?

I'm basically about to order an Apple TV so I haven't got to grips with everything yet. I was aware that I could rip DVD's to iTunes and watch them on my Apple TV (as long as my itunes was on). Is this effectively what Plex does?

Thank you, apologies for my stupidity!

Dalton63841
Jul 26, 2013, 06:30 PM
Thank you! However, without meaning to sound like a complete doofus, may I ask what second and third terms mean?

I'm basically about to order an Apple TV so I haven't got to grips with everything yet. I was aware that I could rip DVD's to iTunes and watch them on my Apple TV (as long as my itunes was on). Is this effectively what Plex does?

Thank you, apologies for my stupidity!

No problem... Say for instance you have videos with the extension avi or mkv, iTunes, and therefor AppleTV, can't do anything with them. On-the-fly transcoding lets Plex take the original file and turn it into something the AppleTV can play without having to re-encode all your files first.

As far as automatic metadata scraping, Plex will automatically download the proper episode/movie names, descriptions, and artwork, with no or little intervention from you. On iTunes you have to edit tags manually or you will be missing all of that stuff(which makes playing it on AppleTV a pain), unless all your content came from the iTunes Store.

hipnetic
Jul 26, 2013, 06:48 PM
A couple of additional comments on that...

- For transcoding to work well, you will need your central computer up and running (just as you would if you went the iTunes server route you mentioned) and your central server will need to have a fairly decent CPU to handle on-the-fly transcoding of high-bitrate high-definition content (e.g., a full-bitrate rip of a Blu-ray movie). The Plex site probably provides some guidance on this.

- Plex will also allow you to do remote playback of your content outside of your house.

manutd27
Jul 26, 2013, 06:58 PM
No problem... Say for instance you have videos with the extension avi or mkv, iTunes, and therefor AppleTV, can't do anything with them. On-the-fly transcoding lets Plex take the original file and turn it into something the AppleTV can play without having to re-encode all your files first.

As far as automatic metadata scraping, Plex will automatically download the proper episode/movie names, descriptions, and artwork, with no or little intervention from you. On iTunes you have to edit tags manually or you will be missing all of that stuff(which makes playing it on AppleTV a pain), unless all your content came from the iTunes Store.

Aha! I know understand and completely appreciate why Plex is much more appealing than iTunes copying. Thank you for your help!

ctyrider
Jul 26, 2013, 09:40 PM
To me, the main benefit of Plex is not having to run iTunes on a Mac 24x7. I run Plex & PlexConnect on my Synology NAS. So, I can now take my MacBook outside of my house, while my family at home can still access my Media library via ATV(s).

Not running my MacBook on 24x7 will probably prolong its life as well.

institute
Jul 27, 2013, 05:16 AM
Yes, but you need a NAS to do this, otherwise Plex still demands your computer be on to run Plex Media Server. In your case the NAS is on all the time.

ctyrider
Jul 28, 2013, 12:35 AM
Yes, but you need a NAS to do this, otherwise Plex still demands your computer be on to run Plex Media Server. In your case the NAS is on all the time.

Yes, of course something has to be on running a Media server. I prefer that to be NAS, which is a small low-powered ARM system. I can run Plex on a NAS, but I need a computer to run an iTunes server.

manutd27
Jul 28, 2013, 09:46 AM
Yes, of course something has to be on running a Media server. I prefer that to be NAS, which is a small low-powered ARM system. I can run Plex on a NAS, but I need a computer to run an iTunes server.

Does a NAS store all of my media files, as well as run Plex? I was thinking of purchasing an external HDD to store them all on, but obviously this means keeping my macbook on. If there is a way to do this on a NAS that seems much better!

May I ask if you can recommend one which will work? Thanks

ctyrider
Jul 28, 2013, 02:36 PM
Does a NAS store all of my media files, as well as run Plex? I was thinking of purchasing an external HDD to store them all on, but obviously this means keeping my macbook on. If there is a way to do this on a NAS that seems much better!

May I ask if you can recommend one which will work? Thanks

Yes, NAS stores all the media (obviously), and it runs PMS (Plex Media Server) and PlexConnect ("translation" script to present PMS to AppleTV Trailers app).

Go with Synology - it's an industry leader and most feature rich. I have DS112 (http://www.synology.com/products/product.php?product_name=DS112&lang=us) model.