PDA

View Full Version : Switch from ProTools MP9 to Logic Pro 9?




tevion5
Jun 4, 2013, 11:41 AM
I bought my protools setup for around 120 euro a year ago. I've got ProTools MP9 and the M-Audio Fast TrackC400. I've recording a number of analogue tracks for my solo stuff and my band and it's great for that. So easy to use.

However I am getting into electronica in a big way largely through Aphex Twin and Deadmau5, and I want to start working with that style now. Only ProTools is just very cumbersome with entirely MIDI tracks and RTAS plugins are so scares for electronica and dance stuff. My Dancehead friend uses Ableton and works wonders with that but I find that just too ugly to even look at having used ProTools. Funny thing is I absolutely love the Garageband App on my phone.
I made this with it in an hour :p :

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vZnK9kMGeNc

It was super super simple and enjoyable to use. It would take me hours and hours to get anything that refined made with ProTools. If Logic is anyway like Garageband I would seriously consider getting it for electronica.

What do you guys think I should do?
Preferably advice from people that have used both. :)



gannonsamuel
Jun 4, 2013, 07:42 PM
Workflow wise, if i was in your boat, I would do programming and writing in logic and then bounce out and mix in protools

tevion5
Jun 4, 2013, 08:20 PM
Workflow wise, if i was in your boat, I would do programming and writing in logic and then bounce out and mix in protools

Yes that sounds good. Be nice not to have ProTools going to waste too.

You think the current 170 euro tag is good value for the current version of Logic Pro 9? Should I wait for an update?

spoonie1972
Jun 5, 2013, 11:51 AM
Yes that sounds good. Be nice not to have ProTools going to waste too.

You think the current 170 euro tag is good value for the current version of Logic Pro 9? Should I wait for an update?

the purchase price of logic is a ridiculous deal. get it now. we've been waiting for an update for 2 years now. An update, if its ground-up re-write... might suck (initially).

gannonsamuel
Jun 5, 2013, 07:22 PM
You think the current 170 euro tag is good value for the current version of Logic Pro 9? Should I wait for an update?

yes. Logic pro is one hell of a powerful program!

as far as i know we have no idea when Logic 10 is meant to be out so you could be waiting for a while... and the upgrade price probably wont be too shocking

ScottishCaptain
Jun 5, 2013, 08:00 PM
I bought my protools setup for around 120 euro a year ago. I've got ProTools MP9 and the M-Audio Fast TrackC400. I've recording a number of analogue tracks for my solo stuff and my band and it's great for that. So easy to use.

However I am getting into electronica in a big way largely through Aphex Twin and Deadmau5, and I want to start working with that style now. Only ProTools is just very cumbersome with entirely MIDI tracks and RTAS plugins are so scares for electronica and dance stuff. My Dancehead friend uses Ableton and works wonders with that but I find that just too ugly to even look at having used ProTools. Funny thing is I absolutely love the Garageband App on my phone.
I made this with it in an hour :p :

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vZnK9kMGeNc

It was super super simple and enjoyable to use. It would take me hours and hours to get anything that refined made with ProTools. If Logic is anyway like Garageband I would seriously consider getting it for electronica.

What do you guys think I should do?
Preferably advice from people that have used both. :)

Logic is a professional tool. Garage Band is a consumer toy. There are similarities, but you're basically comparing a bucket of water to an entire lake.

As for Logic and MIDI, well, I know nothing else. Logic is all I use, day in and day out and I have very few complaints about it. I know a few folks who were in the exact same situation as you and switched to Logic because they wanted a well rounded DAW with excellent MIDI support. Some would even say that the MIDI support in Logic is unparalleled in the industry, mostly because of the Environment editor and the flexibility that provides.

If you're into electronica, then you might want to check out Propellerheads' Reason. It's the only other app I've seen people working with and not cursing at while trying to do predominantly MIDI based work. Other then that, you could probably go ask your question over at GearSlutz.com- but I think you're going to get the same answer. PT is well versed for recording/arranging/mixing/mastering. Logic is OK in those areas, but the killer features lie in the MIDI support.

-SC

BigRed1
Jun 7, 2013, 12:30 PM
I also think Logic is a no-brainer for what it gives you for the price. You can start adding on some stuff from there - Komplete, or Komplete Elements or even Reason or Reason Essentials if you're looking for more drums/synths.

I know Logic has its detractors, but I really like it.

fastlanephil
Jun 8, 2013, 09:47 AM
the purchase price of logic is a ridiculous deal. get it now. we've been waiting for an update for 2 years now. An update, if its ground-up re-write... might suck (initially).

Logic 9 was released in July 2009 so it's actually been close to 4 years since a major update. There is either going to be a very major update or Apple has abandoned it. Maybe there will be a major overhaul of GB to the Pro and Prosumer level to address a changing business model for creating music content.

spoonie1972
Jun 8, 2013, 10:00 AM
Logic 9 was released in July 2009 so it's actually been close to 4 years since a major update. There is either going to be a very major update or Apple has abandoned it. Maybe there will be a major overhaul of GB to the Pro and Prosumer level to address a changing business model for creating music content.

hahah time flies! never noticed.

skiltrip
Jun 13, 2013, 05:24 PM
I used Pro Tools for about 10 years solid. I'm now working exclusively in Logic exclusively. Logic is fantastic. I have never seen a reason to move to Pro Tools for the mixing stage. Logic is more than capable of seeing a project to completion.