PDA

View Full Version : Handbrake files too big




pvig42
Jun 8, 2013, 12:39 PM
Apologies if this has been posted before.

I've been using Handbrake for the past couple of years to rip my favourite films/programmes for use on my Apple TV 2 & 3, iPhone and iPad.

I've updated to the newest version and when selecting "Universal" I have noticed that a 24 minute show is anything between 700mb to 1.1gb even though a show using the previous version was below or around 300mb. I'm not that savvy when it comes to settings in software but I was wondering if someone here may know how to get the file size lower?

Many thanks.
Paolo.



potatis
Jun 9, 2013, 04:30 AM
Downgrade to 0.9.8

pvig42
Jun 9, 2013, 09:05 AM
Downgrade to 0.9.8

Thank you for the response but.........how do I downgrade? I'm checking online how to do it but can't find anything. Apologies for sounding and being thick :) The only way I can think of is restoring from time machine back up.

Redneck-Randy
Jun 9, 2013, 12:35 PM
Here are the older version of Handbrake.

http://sourceforge.net/projects/handbrake/files/

pvig42
Jun 9, 2013, 02:59 PM
Here are the older version of Handbrake.

http://sourceforge.net/projects/handbrake/files/

Thank you very much. Really is appreciated. Now, shall I download 0.9.8 or the favourite 0.9.5? Decisions eh :)

Idgit
Jun 9, 2013, 03:54 PM
Is there a bug in version 0.9.9 that's causing the OP's oversized files?

Downgrade to 0.9.8

technowar
Jun 10, 2013, 03:18 AM
Anyone who has the link for HandBrake 0.9.8 with Apple TV 3 preset? Would be very glad if someone will post it here.

pvig42
Jun 11, 2013, 01:28 PM
Anyone who has the link for HandBrake 0.9.8 with Apple TV 3 preset? Would be very glad if someone will post it here.

Here you are.

http://www.oldapps.com/handbrake.php?old_handbrake=7986

technowar
Jun 11, 2013, 08:34 PM
Thank you man. Really means a lot!

pvig42
Jun 13, 2013, 05:41 PM
Thank you man. Really means a lot!

No problem.

dynaflash
Jun 13, 2013, 06:15 PM
If you want the same results as 0.9.8 in 0.9.9 try this:

Move the x264 presets slider one notch right to 'slow' instead of the exisiting 'medium'.

This will slow down your encode (basically to what it was in 0.9.8) and give you a smaller file of the same quality.

----------

Plus, realize unless you are comparing identical source files across HB versions ... each source will have a different final file size / bitrate depending on a number of factors like grain, complexity etc. This is well known among video encoders.

technowar
Jun 13, 2013, 06:55 PM
No problem.

By the way, is there a Mac version for this?