PDA

View Full Version : ML, Airplay, no sound.




DianeK
Jun 8, 2013, 08:21 PM
Here is our setup.
Our ATV3 is wired through HDMI to our AV Receiver which is in turn HDMI connected to our Panasonic television.
The ATV is also ethernet connected to our modern/router to ensure good signal.
I turned Mirroring on my iMac, selected ATV to play a Lightroom Slideshow. The pictures played but there was NO sound (I have a soundtrack for the slideshow in LR).
What step am I missing here?
One of the big reasons I gave up the stability of Snow Leopard was so we could take advantage of Airplay and Mirroring :confused:
Help???
Diane



JUiCEJamie
Jun 10, 2013, 05:08 AM
Here is our setup.
Our ATV3 is wired through HDMI to our AV Receiver which is in turn HDMI connected to our Panasonic television.
The ATV is also ethernet connected to our modern/router to ensure good signal.
I turned Mirroring on my iMac, selected ATV to play a Lightroom Slideshow. The pictures played but there was NO sound (I have a soundtrack for the slideshow in LR).
What step am I missing here?
One of the big reasons I gave up the stability of Snow Leopard was so we could take advantage of Airplay and Mirroring :confused:
Help???
Diane

Hey, yeah - Since the 10.8.4 update, I've been having this problem too.
Is it a bug in the OS? Or could it be a corrupt update/download?

ie; I tried using 4OD (On Demand TV Catch Up) and mirror this in full screen to my ATV, but sound is coming from my Mac.

DianeK
Jun 10, 2013, 09:37 AM
Hey, yeah - Since the 10.8.4 update, I've been having this problem too.
Is it a bug in the OS? Or could it be a corrupt update/download?

ie; I tried using 4OD (On Demand TV Catch Up) and mirror this in full screen to my ATV, but sound is coming from my Mac.

I just found out that you need to go to System Pref->Sound and switch audio to the ATV. Or option+click on the sound icon in the upper right corner of your desktop to get to that menu. Just found out about this last night and haven't tried it yet to see if this is the solution. Apparently Apple has decided you can only play the audio through one device at a time so you will lose the audio on your Mac when you direct it to the ATv.

JUiCEJamie
Jun 10, 2013, 07:47 PM
Genius. Thank you!