PDA

View Full Version : LionDiskmaker won't create 10.9 USB


mmomega
Jun 10, 2013, 05:56 PM
Has anyone else tried making a USB 10.9 Install drive yet?

LionDiskmaker would not work.

Will try TargetDiskMode to get it on my MBA soon.

john7jr
Jun 10, 2013, 07:11 PM
My normal Disk Utility method didn't produce a bootable USB volume either. Still trying things.

UmbraDiaboli
Jun 10, 2013, 07:18 PM
My normal Disk Utility method didn't produce a bootable USB volume either. Still trying things.

Same here. It seems Apple tweaked it so it can't be made.

john7jr
Jun 10, 2013, 07:43 PM
Same here. It seems Apple tweaked it so it can't be made.

Well, the dmg just doesn't contain a bootable system anymore. I'm sure there's a way around it.

UmbraDiaboli
Jun 10, 2013, 07:47 PM
Well, the dmg just doesn't contain a bootable system anymore. I'm sure there's a way around it.

Maybe Apple will include it in a future update? For now I'm installing 10.9 over ML.

Dalton63841
Jun 10, 2013, 07:53 PM
Has anyone else tried making a USB 10.9 Install drive yet?

LionDiskmaker would not work.

Will try TargetDiskMode to get it on my MBA soon.

If you look inside the LionDiskMaker package you will notice it is built around a fairly simple, albeit long, applescript. Looking through the script you can see it was made specific to 10.7 and 10.8. It doesn't do a simple check for a minimum version. It makes sure it is a specific version. Because of that, it will not work without an update.

portishead
Jun 10, 2013, 09:19 PM
Same problem here. Burning a DVD didn't work either. I'm just going to install over ML until I can figure it out.

I hope Apple doesn't lock us out from doing clean installs.

MichaelDT
Jun 10, 2013, 09:54 PM
There is a hidden file in installESD called Basesystem.dmg this is the boot image but not the install files, still trying to work out how they link together. But you can boot off of that image just not install.

Dalton63841
Jun 10, 2013, 09:56 PM
There is a hidden file in installESD called Basesystem.dmg this is the boot image but not the install files, still trying to work out how they link together. But you can boot off of that image just not install.

Just like Mountain Lion, there is an alias for the Packages folder inside BastSystem.dmg. I think it is at /System/Library/Packages. You need to delete that alias and copy the Packages folder in InstallESD.dmg into its place.

EDIT: The alias is at /System/Installation/

Failurbydesign
Jun 10, 2013, 10:44 PM
How was the install over ML? Any issues?

MichaelDT
Jun 10, 2013, 11:58 PM
For me it wouldn't install over ML. I had to format and do a clean install, possibly because of my DIY fusion drive. But no problems, I always back up :D.

Failurbydesign
Jun 11, 2013, 12:07 AM
For me it wouldn't install over ML. I had to format and do a clean install, possibly because of my DIY fusion drive. But no problems, I always back up :D.

During the attempt, did it inform you of the issue or did you loose data?

portishead
Jun 11, 2013, 12:09 AM
For me it wouldn't install over ML. I had to format and do a clean install, possibly because of my DIY fusion drive. But no problems, I always back up :D.

How did you do this?

Ritte
Jun 11, 2013, 03:26 AM
Just like Mountain Lion, there is an alias for the Packages folder inside BastSystem.dmg. I think it is at /System/Library/Packages. You need to delete that alias and copy the Packages folder in InstallESD.dmg into its place.

EDIT: The alias is at /System/Installation/

Can I just restore the InstallESD.dmg on a USB or should I restore BaseSystem.dmg

Bear
Jun 11, 2013, 07:33 AM
Can I just restore the InstallESD.dmg on a USB or should I restore BaseSystem.dmgActual information on how to do this is in How to build a bootable USB Installer (http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1594017).

MichaelDT
Jun 19, 2013, 11:28 PM
During the attempt, did it inform you of the issue or did you loose data?
No it simply said that it could not install on the partition, so I knew something was wrong. I then did a time machine back up and erased the drive restored and then updated, I do not know what the issue was.