PDA

View Full Version : Does your Mac have to be registered to run the developer build?


blasto2236
Jun 10, 2013, 09:03 PM
Before anyone deletes this, I am NOT asking for anyone to register me, nor am I trying to trade UDIDs or anything of the sort.

If I manage to obtain the developer preview of Mavericks, does my iMac have to be registered with a dev account like the iPhones/iPads do for iOS? Or will I be able to install it no problem? I hope this is a legit question to ask, still relatively new around here (as far as the release of new OS' goes)

Thanks!

mdapple
Jun 10, 2013, 09:43 PM
im not really a beta person since i prefer stable builds, but i think the answer is yes

lulla01
Jun 10, 2013, 09:45 PM
I am pretty sure it does not. But I do not know how it will work when updates are released.

w0lf
Jun 10, 2013, 09:45 PM
No but this will probably get locked, because the question implies illegal installation.

Drew017
Jun 10, 2013, 09:46 PM
Usually your mac does not need to be registered to a developer account. You should be able to install it fine… but if you have a developer account and were to install it you wouldn't have this issue ;)

blasto2236
Jun 10, 2013, 09:57 PM
Usually your mac does not need to be registered to a developer account. You should be able to install it fine… but if you have a developer account and were to install it you wouldn't have this issue ;)

Well, I was under the impression that buying an Apple developer account WOULD get me legitimate access. But evidently iOS and Mac dev accounts come with their own $100 price tag. Not spending another $100 to try it early.