PDA

View Full Version : Can anyone confirm whether VMware or Parallels works fine under Mavericks?


jnozsc
Jun 10, 2013, 10:51 PM
I mean:
host OS: Mavericks
guest OS: any other OS.

Does vmware or parallels work well?

Thanks.

chissflyer
Jun 10, 2013, 10:59 PM
I mean:
host OS: Mavericks
guest OS: any other OS.

Does vmware or parallels work well?

Thanks.

I installed Mavericks DP earlier today on my MBR 15" and Parallels 8 (Build 8.0.18483) running Windows 7 isn't working for me.

I receive the error "Unable to load the Parallels driver"

I did reboot after the first time I received the error.

Tiki35
Jun 10, 2013, 11:33 PM
Does not work for me either. Same error.

MLMcMillion
Jun 11, 2013, 12:19 AM
VMWare Fusion 5 seems to be working fine for both regular VMs and Boot Camp, minus a small graphical glitch when the password prompt pops up for Boot Camp.

dmcburnie
Jun 11, 2013, 05:06 AM
VMWare 5.03 running XP is working perfectly for me on Mavericks

negativzero
Jun 11, 2013, 07:05 AM
VMWare Fusion 5 works but VMWare Fusion 6 Tech Preview is broken.

AllenGuo
Jun 11, 2013, 07:07 AM
I mean:
host OS: Mavericks
guest OS: any other OS.

Does vmware or parallels work well?

Thanks.

15 RMBP, parallels latest version - windows xp & 7, both don't work.

chissflyer
Jun 11, 2013, 08:45 AM
I installed Mavericks DP earlier today on my MBR 15" and Parallels 8 (Build 8.0.18483) running Windows 7 isn't working for me.

I receive the error "Unable to load the Parallels driver"

I did reboot after the first time I received the error.

There is a fix for Parallels. It appears the kernel extensions Parallels needs don't automatically load. If you load them by hand and then run Parallels it works just fine.

Exact steps are here:

http://forum.parallels.com/showthread.php?287726-Parallels-in-OSX-10-9-host

rick snagwell
Jun 11, 2013, 05:46 PM
hey guys, i am on mountain lion, and i have windows 8 installed as a VM usiong VMWARE. can i add another VM with my .dmg of DP1 mavericks?

Tiberion
Jun 12, 2013, 06:58 AM
This script from Parallels works for me:
http://kb.parallels.com/en/116259

I am using Parallels Desktop version 8.

msephton
Jun 12, 2013, 07:37 AM
VMware 5.0.3 working mostly, although the shared network connection seems busted.

rick snagwell
Jun 13, 2013, 01:23 PM
how do install 10.9 DP1 on vmware!? its a dmg file!

tbohlsennswssrg
Jun 13, 2013, 08:55 PM
how do install 10.9 DP1 on vmware!? its a dmg file!

You would first install Mountain lion, then mount the dmg file as a DVD, then copy the installer to the hard drive that the mountain lion is on and after that open the installer and follow the steps shown.

ResPublica
Jun 25, 2013, 01:43 PM
What about VMWare Fusion 4?

bist
Jun 25, 2013, 02:02 PM
Parallel is working fine (Any guests: Bootcamp W7, W7, W8, many linux distros and ML).

You'll either have to download the _latest_ version or use the script available on Parallel support forum - Tiberion linked it -

Vmware (5) seems to have some difficulties with the network (I do not have many VM under Vmware and don't use it much). I've the same problem as msephton with the shared network (All my Parallel VM are bridged).

Swiss-G
Jun 25, 2013, 03:50 PM
Parallels have released version 8.0.18494 which supports OS X 10.9 (experimental support)

About Parallels Desktop for Mac 8.0.18494 [LATEST BUILD]
Article ID: 116290
Created On: Jun 17, 2013
Last Review: Jun 17, 2013
Views:
APPLIES TO:
Desktop Virtualization
SUMMARY

This update for Parallels Desktop 8 for Mac (build 8.0.18494) includes the following enhancements:
Use Parallels Desktop on a Mac with OS X Mavericks 10.9 Developer Preview (experimental support).
Work with Parallels Desktop on new MacBooks Air (Mid-2013).


http://kb.parallels.com/en/116290

msephton
Jun 26, 2013, 06:48 AM
What about VMWare Fusion 4?
Works to use the VM and apps, but network access does not work for me with DP1 or DP2.

Lolito
Jun 26, 2013, 09:06 AM
Prallels 8 latest version works perfectly on mavericks DP2

mwhities
Jun 26, 2013, 09:33 AM
Mavericks DP2
Windows 7 Pro in VMware Fusion
Mid 2010 Macbook

Running great here.

Mr. Retrofire
Jun 26, 2013, 10:05 AM
Works to use the VM and apps, but network access does not work for me with DP1 or DP2.
Probably a permissions problem (VMware kernel extensions)!?

ResPublica
Jun 26, 2013, 11:29 AM
Works to use the VM and apps, but network access does not work for me with DP1 or DP2.
Thanks!

jhfenton
Jun 26, 2013, 01:03 PM
As others have said, the latest build of Parallels 8 and DP2 work flawlessly for me. I have Windows 8 and Ubuntu 13.04 VMs that work perfectly.

The only consistent problem I've seen reported on the Parallels forums is with the Maps app under Mavericks running in a Parallels VM. Maps appears to run, but the maps don't draw at all. There appears to be some graphics acceleration problem.

Msan
Jun 26, 2013, 01:11 PM
Works to use the VM and apps, but network access does not work for me with DP1 or DP2.

I'm running Fusion 5.0.3 and everything runs fine under DP1 and DP2

msephton
Jun 27, 2013, 02:22 AM
I'm running Fusion 5.0.3 and everything runs fine under DP1 and DP2
I'm using 5.0.3 with XP, W7 and Ubuntu and I cannot get any pages to show in a browser under any platforms. I have reinstalled VMware Tools.

Can you please let me know what your network settings are? Thanks

DiscardedPacket
Jun 27, 2013, 07:05 AM
Running Fusion 5.0.3.

DP 1 worked but unity mode was broken. DP 2 has fixed unity.

Msan
Jun 27, 2013, 11:38 AM
I'm using 5.0.3 with XP, W7 and Ubuntu and I cannot get any pages to show in a browser under any platforms. I have reinstalled VMware Tools.

Can you please let me know what your network settings are? Thanks

Sure, here 'ya go..

msephton
Jun 27, 2013, 01:04 PM
Thanks! For some reason mine was on "Share with my Mac"

Zaphodsplanet
Oct 23, 2013, 08:14 PM
What about VMWare Fusion 4?

Found something in the support area on VMWare that says version 4 won't run on Mavericks. They say you need to upgrade to version 6 to be fully compatible. I've got 4.1.4 and I'm debating upgrading it before or after I upgrade my iMac from ML to Maverick.

Yoursh
Oct 23, 2013, 08:37 PM
Found something in the support area on VMWare that says version 4 won't run on Mavericks. They say you need to upgrade to version 6 to be fully compatible. I've got 4.1.4 and I'm debating upgrading it before or after I upgrade my iMac from ML to Maverick.

I just updated my '09 MBP to 10.9 and have VMWare 4.1.4 installed. Version 4 does start on my machine and started a Win7 virtual machine fine. Haven't had a chance to fully test to see if anything is broken though. But it does appear that 10.9 doesn't brick the app.

Zaphodsplanet
Oct 23, 2013, 08:58 PM
I just updated my '09 MBP to 10.9 and have VMWare 4.1.4 installed. Version 4 does start on my machine and started a Win7 virtual machine fine. Haven't had a chance to fully test to see if anything is broken though. But it does appear that 10.9 doesn't brick the app.

LOL.... thanks man. So much for the harsh words of someone on the VMWare support site. I think I'm going to go ahead and take the plunge here this evening(upgrade to 10.9). I've got a second iMac that I have ML Server on.... I suppose if the crap hits the fan on anything not working I can use that machine. Thanks for the input.... I really appreciate it. I don't mean to badmouth VMWare at all either. It's a great piece of software that allows anyone to run Satan's OS (win) when the need comes up....:) But also allows you to choke the Satan OS and put it in a box when you don't need it, or wish to be annoyed by it.:D:D

Jared-
Oct 23, 2013, 09:04 PM
Fusion 6 working fine.

Quackers
Oct 23, 2013, 09:05 PM
Sure, here 'ya go..
Thanks for this.
Mine too had become set to share with mac. Maybe the upgrade did that? :confused:
But it's working now :D

jhfenton
Oct 23, 2013, 09:11 PM
For the record, the latest build of Parallels 8 worked fine for me under the later Mavericks Developer Previews. There was a USB problem with an earlier build of Parallels 8, but they fixed it.

Parallels 9 is working fine for me now under Mavericks. I upgraded a Windows 8 VM to Windows 8.1 without problem. A Windows XP VM works fine. An Ubuntu 13.04 VM works fine. I'm having a minor issue with Ubuntu 13.10, but it's not a Mavericks issue.

Deguello
Oct 23, 2013, 09:50 PM
VMWare 4.x running Win 7 would boot the VM, but I couldn't access the internet on my iMac or Air. Upgraded to 6 and everything is working fine again.

buddyspencer
Oct 26, 2013, 05:51 AM
Tried Fusion 6 and Parallels 9 and every program has it's little problems.

Fusion has problems with dual monitors and with energy management - it needs much more power than Parallels. So if you're often on battery parallels should be your choice.

PeterHolbrook
Oct 26, 2013, 06:32 AM
Fusion 6 working great.

Dr. George
Oct 29, 2013, 02:12 AM
Good morning everyone.
I experienced the same problem after upgrading to MacOS Mavericks.
I did my "research" and I found this (at Parallels' official site):
(http://www.parallels.com/kr/support/desktop-virtualization/desktop-stm/)

Critical and Urgent
Service Alert for Parallels Desktop 8 Users Upgrading to Mavericks - October 23, 2013!

If you intend to upgrade to Mac OS X Mavericks (10.9), and are running Parallels Desktop 8 for Mac, you must be running the most recent update (build 8.0.18608). Select “Check for Updates” in the Parallels Desktop menu or click here...

Thankfully, the problem has been solved! It works perfectly with Mavericks.

Dr. George

ZBoater
Oct 29, 2013, 07:59 AM
Parallels 9 is running grrrrrrrrrrrreat!

sarakn
Nov 6, 2013, 12:54 PM
Parallels 9 is running grrrrrrrrrrrreat!

Not for me :(. I have the latest MBP (2.6/16Ghz) and using Parallels 9 on Windows 8.1. MS Office 2013 is slow - especially word and it's crashed a few times.

Using parallels run down the battery quickly - at some point yesterday, I noticed batter life was down to 2.5 hours. Shutting down parallels increased it to over 4. The fan also comes on when I use parallels.

I have allocated 1 CPU and 2GB ram... please let me know if this is wrong. I heard if you allocate too many resources to Parallels, it could slow down both Parallels and OSX.

pastrychef
Nov 6, 2013, 01:26 PM
Windows 8.1 on Fusion 6 working fine on my Mac Pro 5,1.