PDA

View Full Version : How many monitors will OS X mavericks support?


Eduardot
Jun 11, 2013, 02:14 PM
I am running a 3 multi display setup with my iMac 27 i5 2011 model.
Do you all know how many displays will it support, or only two as shown in the WWDC video?

Thanks…...:confused:

Bear
Jun 11, 2013, 02:19 PM
I am running a 3 multi display setup with my iMac 27 i5 2011 model.
Do you all know how many displays will it support, or only two as shown in the WWDC video?

Thanks…...:confused:Actually it showed 3 when they included AirPlay. With the new MacPro supporting 3 4k Displays, I'm sure you'll have no issue with a 3 display iMac setup with Mavericks.

plasticphyte
Jun 11, 2013, 03:07 PM
Multiple monitor use is only dependant on the graphics card used to power them. In practice, as long as you've got enough graphics cards, you can have as many displays as you want.

EduWebGuy
Jun 12, 2013, 10:27 AM
I use the Matrox DualHead2Go Digital ME (http://www.matrox.com/graphics/en/products/gxm/dh2go/digital_me/) from a MBP to power two monitors. Will the multiple display feature in Maverick work with this device?

Right now, OS X sees the two monitors as one and just doubles the resolution width to fill up both screens. This is fine until I make something fullscreen or open Launchpad or Mission Control.

leman
Jun 12, 2013, 12:52 PM
I use the Matrox DualHead2Go Digital ME (http://www.matrox.com/graphics/en/products/gxm/dh2go/digital_me/) from a MBP to power two monitors. Will the multiple display feature in Maverick work with this device?

Right now, OS X sees the two monitors as one and just doubles the resolution width to fill up both screens. This is fine until I make something fullscreen or open Launchpad or Mission Control.

Well, from the product description: 'Creates a stretched desktop of 3840x1200 (2x1920x1200)1 across two displays'. Seems like its working as advertised? Nothing to do with the OS.

DarkStar851
Jun 12, 2013, 06:17 PM
I've been using two (the laptop screen on my rMBP late 2013, and a 19" 4:3) all day today without any problems at work. Noticed in second spaces though, my background doesn't work. Weird bug, probably OpenCL related. I use three displays at my home office sometimes, though they're currently out of commission, I need new DVI cables.

Mr. Retrofire
Jun 12, 2013, 06:23 PM
I am running a 3 multi display setup with my iMac 27 i5 2011 model.
Do you all know how many displays will it support, or only two as shown in the WWDC video?
The Haswell IGP supports 3 displays. That's the minimum. So i think Mavericks supports at least 3 displays (IGP or discrete GPU(s)).

maclover69
Jun 13, 2013, 02:22 AM
This guy shows it using 6 on a mac pro

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mi6AhogZCeg