PDA

View Full Version : Wont restore back to 6.1.4

rossihvac
Jun 11, 2013, 11:11 PM
I am a legitimate dev who updated to iOS7 yesterday. Although i love the new look it is still way too buggy for me to use until my company buys us new iphone 5's to use as dev units. I tried downgrading using dfu on my imac and my mac mini on the mini i get an error code 21 and on my imac i get error code 14......everytime. i can restore back to 7.0 no problem, i even tried to just click on restore without directing to a file and itunes says the file that downloaded was corrupted, i dont get it!!! Any help will be appreciated.

NovemberWhiskey
Jun 11, 2013, 11:20 PM
Why don't you try redownloading 6.1.4.

Google ios 6.1.4 ipsw and you should find some sites. Then hold option when you click restore, and select the new file.

It's possible the old ipsw was corrupted.

apollo1444
Jun 11, 2013, 11:32 PM
you can find 6.1.3 here

www.felixbruns.de/iPod/firmware/‎

6.1.4 is iPhone 5 only, maybe that's why its failing?

rossihvac
Jun 11, 2013, 11:51 PM
my iphone is a 5. i tried files from a few sources, i even tried 6.1.3 and it said that it wasnt being signed by apple anymore. I am going to try again in the am, i dont know what i could be missing though.

dimzen
Jun 12, 2013, 12:00 AM
On the iOS 7 Dev Center page, it says:
This is a pre-release version of iOS 7 beta for iPhone and iPod touch. Devices updated to iOS 7 beta can not be restored to earlier versions of iOS.

madmaxmedia
Jun 12, 2013, 12:05 AM
But you can go back- I did.

I'm on a 4S, non developer. All I did was DFU, and then click on 'restore' in iTunes when prompted. (I didn't option-click and manually select firmware.)

Phoboss
Jun 12, 2013, 03:39 AM
this would interest me as well. for iOS 6 it also said it couldn't be restored to iOS 5, but I went back and forth all the time on my dev phone.
can somebody try this please?

Fed
Jun 12, 2013, 03:44 AM