PDA

View Full Version : I don't hate the icons, but I thought I'd have a go?

lewismayell
Jun 13, 2013, 11:04 AM
So, this is my first time using Photoshop for about 2 years and I'm trying to make a few icons, I don't think I'm better than Jony or anything I'm just trying to make things, any feedback for me? Constructive criticism?

Obviously this is only a work in progress, I've probably been working on these for about 3 hours now and I just wanna know what you think at this point.

Thanks for having a look.

(Wallpaper behind my icons isn't something I made) (I also think the icons have been slightly rounded so mine are a bit different)

1st pic - Original
2nd pic - Original with my icons
3rd pic - My icons with non of the original stuff

212rikanmofo
Jun 13, 2013, 11:05 AM
Uhm, no.

darngooddesign
Jun 13, 2013, 11:05 AM
I don't think you improved it; Gamecenter is not a chess game and App Store is not a writing app.

fivedots
Jun 13, 2013, 11:06 AM
Sorry mate, but these are not very good.

lewismayell
Jun 13, 2013, 11:06 AM
Gamecenter is not a chess game.

Neither is it 4 bubbles

----------

Sorry mate, but these are not very good.

That's fine, but why not? What can I improve?

batting1000
Jun 13, 2013, 11:09 AM
Neither is it 4 bubbles

----------

Game Center is more like 4 bubbles than a chess piece. You did a nice job, I just prefer the iOS 7 icons.

pedrofan
Jun 13, 2013, 11:10 AM
Both are ugly. The main problem is the white icon background arbitrary selected.

lewismayell
Jun 13, 2013, 11:10 AM
Game Center is more like 4 bubbles than a chess piece.

I'm not sure how that represents a game at all, as well as them having a non 'flat' shine on them

darngooddesign
Jun 13, 2013, 11:14 AM
Neither is it 4 bubbles

http://ripley.za.net/wp-content/plugins/rss-poster/cache/ef4c7_ios7_game_center.jpg

Still don't see the connection between the icon and the app?

----------