PDA

View Full Version : Double-click won't open desktop items


fhall1
Jun 15, 2013, 02:58 PM
Just started playing with 10.9 DP1 - upgrade from 10.8.3 on a test box. Issue I've run into is that I can't open anything placed on the desktop with a double-click.

If I right-click and select "open", the item will open with no problem.

If I double-click something in a Finder window it will also open...just items on the desktop won't open. I tried a restart with the same results. Any ideas?

Msan
Jun 16, 2013, 02:22 AM
works just fine for me..

GreatDrok
Jun 25, 2013, 06:24 PM
Just started playing with 10.9 DP1 - upgrade from 10.8.3 on a test box. Issue I've run into is that I can't open anything placed on the desktop with a double-click.

If I right-click and select "open", the item will open with no problem.

If I double-click something in a Finder window it will also open...just items on the desktop won't open. I tried a restart with the same results. Any ideas?

I'm seeing the same - upgraded to DP1 from ML in VMWare Fusion, and then upgraded to DP2 and still no joy. Have to right click on desktop icons and choose 'Open'. Doesn't seem to be related to being in a VM, more likely an issue upgrading from ML.

fhall1
Jun 26, 2013, 06:01 AM
Just updated my Fusion VM from DP1 to DP2 and the bug is still there for me too. Re-installed Fusion Tools and it didn't help. I'm thinking it's probably a Fusion bug, but haven't seen anything in my quick look at their forums. When I get time I'll try to remember to post it there too.

fhall1
Jun 27, 2013, 09:27 AM
Posted the issue on the VMware forums...got a response that didn't say if they were aware of the issue or not, but they'd like me to try using the Fusion 2013 Preview Version. Kinda sucks since I don't want to install what will essentially be Fusion 6.0 to see if it fixes this bug.

fhall1
Jun 30, 2013, 07:47 AM
just received a more definitive answer from VMware:

"We have reported the issue to Apple and they acknowledged that it is a bug in Mavericks, that they will fix in subsequent developer seed builds.
In theory, you should be able to reproduce the issue without VMware Fusion, by running Mavericks on a physical machine and trying to double-click with a USB tablet.

What is going on in the input stack is there is a field on all mouse events called click count. Some apps will perform double click actions when the click count is 2 and a button is pressed. Whereas other apps will look for two clicks within a small amount of time. The issue with this bug is that the click count field is not getting incremented inside of the Mavericks kernel's HID driver for absolute interface devices. The "mouse" VMware Fusion exposes to Mac OS guests is more like a "tablet", in the sense that it uses absolute, not relative, coordinates."

fhall1
Jul 10, 2013, 07:19 AM
Double-click bug in Fusion is still there in DP3 1.0.

Note in the "known third party issues" it says:
- Installation within a virtual machine is not supported for VMWare Fusion.

But it installs (at least over DP2) - only bug seen so far is the double-click on desktop. DP3 actually allowed me to install the latest update to Flash so I can access more sites in Safari than I could with DP2.

fhall1
Jul 25, 2013, 05:54 AM
In case anyone else cares....DP4 has fixed this issue