Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MacProg

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 17, 2013
Apologies if this is an obvious question, but I'm a new C++ programmer for Mac OS and I'm trying to figure out a simple way to play a tone of a set frequency. Any help would be greatly appreciated! Many thanks in advance.

subsonix

macrumors 68040
Feb 2, 2008
If you want to create the tone your self you need to use Core Audio. You have to create a function that generates the tone at a given frequency then provide that function as a render callback to an output AudioUnit.

Core Audio is a low level C framework that provides pro level performance on OS X. You may be able to find some 3rd party framework wrapped around Core Audio that let's you do this at a higher level if you search for it.

chown33

Staff member
Aug 9, 2009
A sea of green
Apologies if this is an obvious question, but I'm a new C++ programmer for Mac OS ...

New to C++, or new to Mac OS X, or both?

New to programming in general? I.e. is C++ on Mac OS X your first programming language? If not, what other languages do you know?

and I'm trying to figure out a simple way to play a tone of a set frequency.

http://www.mikeash.com/getting_answers.html

What have you tried? Be specific.

If you used a search engine, what did you search for? What did you find?

When I google this: os x c++ audio library, I see the two top results are irrKlang and PortAudio.

If you're learning from a book, online tutorial, or video tutorial, which one? Title, author, and edition for a book; URL(s) for online resources.

MacProg

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 17, 2013
New to C++, or new to Mac OS X, or both?

New to programming in general? I.e. is C++ on Mac OS X your first programming language? If not, what other languages do you know?

http://www.mikeash.com/getting_answers.html

What have you tried? Be specific.