PDA

View Full Version : How to Run OS X Mavericks in a Parallels Virtual Machine




MacRumors
Jun 19, 2013, 03:36 PM
http://images.macrumors.com/im/macrumorsthreadlogo.gif (http://www.macrumors.com/2013/06/19/how-to-run-os-x-mavericks-in-a-parallels-virtual-machine/)


Parallels has posted instructions (http://blogs.parallels.com/consumertech/2013/6/14/parallels-desktop-and-os-x-109-mavericks.html) on how to install the developer release of OS X Mavericks into its virtualization software. Installing the beta in a virtual machine allows developers to test their software in a secure environment on production machines, without endangering their day-to-day work.

http://images.macrumors.com/article-new/2013/06/osxmavericks.jpgAs you may have heard, Apple has released to its Developer Community a preview of the next version of OS X: OS X Mavericks. What is the easiest way to use a new operating system, especially a early preview of an operating system currently still under development? In a virtual machine in Parallels Desktop, of course. So, the Engineering team at Parallels has released Knowledge Base articles about installing OS X Mavericks in Parallels Desktop 8 and about installing Parallels Desktop 8 on a Mac that is running OS X Mavericks:The company notes that users cannot install Mavericks into a clean virtual machine, but they can upgrade an already existing (http://blogs.parallels.com/consumertech/2013/6/14/parallels-desktop-and-os-x-109-mavericks.html) OS X virtual machine to Mavericks with only a few minor changes.

Article Link: How to Run OS X Mavericks in a Parallels Virtual Machine (http://www.macrumors.com/2013/06/19/how-to-run-os-x-mavericks-in-a-parallels-virtual-machine/)



Michaelgtrusa
Jun 19, 2013, 03:38 PM
Cannot install Mavericks into a clean virtual machine?

roadbloc
Jun 19, 2013, 03:41 PM
Yo dawg. I heard you liked OS X....

Porshuh944turbo
Jun 19, 2013, 03:57 PM
Been waiting for this. Great option to have.

AbdullahTammour
Jun 19, 2013, 04:08 PM
is there a way to install Mavericks using VirtualBox?

arkmannj
Jun 19, 2013, 04:16 PM
Personally I'm a VMWare guy, has anyone tried installing Mavs. in Fusion?

RMo
Jun 19, 2013, 04:43 PM
Cannot install Mavericks into a clean virtual machine?

I'd say you can, it's just not supported (by Parallels). Some people have apparently managed to get it to work: http://reversi.ng/install-os-x-10-9-maverick-developer-preview-fresh-or-on-vm/

rdlink
Jun 19, 2013, 04:48 PM
Cannot install Mavericks into a clean virtual machine?

This is something that both Parallels and VMWare will overcome in short order. Any time a new OS comes out they need time to update their software to recognize the installer file properly. Remember folks, this is still a very early dev OS.

BTW: I'm running it in Parallels right now, and the biggest issue I have is that it doesn't recognize the fact that I have a second monitor attached.

donutbagel
Jun 19, 2013, 04:55 PM
is there a way to install Mavericks using VirtualBox?

I tried and failed to install Lion in VirtualBox already. Snow Leopard Server worked, but it was slow.

----------

I already put Mavericks as a clean install on VMWare Fusion; however, it was on an existing Mountain Lion virtual machine that I added a second bootup disk to. The graphics were having major problems in certain cases, but it booted and worked.

----------

Personally I'm a VMWare guy, has anyone tried installing Mavs. in Fusion?

I did, posted about it above.

WissMAN
Jun 19, 2013, 05:05 PM
Sounds like a interesting option.

sirdir
Jun 19, 2013, 06:18 PM
Personally I'm a VMWare guy, has anyone tried installing Mavs. in Fusion?

Upgrading from 10.8 works. Direct install is tricky.

Candlelight
Jun 19, 2013, 08:19 PM
Is it possible to run VMWare on Mavericks? I can't seem to run any of my existing machines (which were created on Lion). Haven't tried a new machine yet.

Zyphras
Jun 19, 2013, 10:28 PM
I don't think that Mavericks is an interesting version of OS X to try out in a virtual machine. The final version will be much more interesting as you'll install that on your MacBook and notice the improvement in your battery life consumption. As for other features, it's not hugely interesting.

petrucci666
Jun 19, 2013, 11:05 PM
Cannot install Mavericks into a clean virtual machine?

Makes no sense. Why would I have a virtual machine of a Mac, on a Mac?

JetStar
Jun 19, 2013, 11:11 PM
Makes no sense. Why would I have a virtual machine of a Mac, on a Mac?

It allows you to run beta OSes such as Mavericks without the risk of messing up your main OS.
Second, some older software cannot run on the latest OSes, so you run the software in older versions in the virtual machine.

There might be other reasons, which I don't know of.

Elderloc
Jun 20, 2013, 01:10 AM
Personally I'm a VMWare guy, has anyone tried installing Mavs. in Fusion?

I have not tried it yet but you should download the new 2013 Fusion Beta from VMware that would be your best bet.

http://communities.vmware.com/community/vmtn/beta/fusion_2013

ChrisA
Jun 20, 2013, 03:22 AM
Makes no sense. Why would I have a virtual machine of a Mac, on a Mac?

Two good reasons. I've done this for both reasons.

Software testing. I want to be sure my software runs well on different versions of the OS

Failure containment. If the new Beta OS blows up I don't want it to corrupt my "real" disks. the version running inside the VM can only destroy the VM image and those can be restored in minutes

cryingrobot
Jun 20, 2013, 04:55 AM
Based on what happened with Lions, even if it does work somehow, Parallels will cripple their current version and make you buy their new version.

arkmannj
Jun 20, 2013, 09:30 AM
I have not tried it yet but you should download the new 2013 Fusion Beta from VMware that would be your best bet.

http://communities.vmware.com/community/vmtn/beta/fusion_2013


Thanks!

petrucci666
Jun 20, 2013, 10:54 AM
Two good reasons. I've done this for both reasons.

Software testing. I want to be sure my software runs well on different versions of the OS

Failure containment. If the new Beta OS blows up I don't want it to corrupt my "real" disks. the version running inside the VM can only destroy the VM image and those can be restored in minutes

Sorry, I phrased my reply wrong.

It said you can't install Mavericks as a clean virtual machine, but only as an upgrade to an already existing OSX version in a virtual machine.

If I have Mountain Lion as my main OS, why would I also have Mountain Lion installed as a virtual machine?

xcodeaddict
Jun 20, 2013, 12:00 PM
All working nicely here:

Q6F972PoJM4

ctakah
Jun 20, 2013, 12:39 PM
Yep, running Mavericks DP inside Fusion DP, alongside WIN8 on 10.8.5 as the hostů Did a clean install of the Mavericks too! But as someone mentioned, doing a clean install involves a lot of shamanic dances and voodoo rituals converting the original disk image to VMDK, then Mavericks tried to install itself onto the virtual disk image it was installing itself from, so i had to make another virtual partition for it there blah blah blah...
but it works!

stuckwithme247
Jun 20, 2013, 03:23 PM
It allows you to run beta OSes such as Mavericks without the risk of messing up your main OS.
Second, some older software cannot run on the latest OSes, so you run the software in older versions in the virtual machine.

There might be other reasons, which I don't know of.

You can partition your hard drive with Disk Utility, without having to reformat the drive, and install Mavericks there. Your primary (probably Mountain Lion) partition will mount automatically, and that can be annoying when using Spotlight, but there is a simple fix for that here (http://reviews.cnet.com/8301-13727_7-57507755-263/how-to-prevent-a-volume-from-mounting-at-boot-in-os-x/).

It might work alright in Parallels, but why introduce other variables into the equation when testing and developing with Mavericks?

furi0usbee
Jun 20, 2013, 03:36 PM
Doing this right now, however Parallels 8 outputs the OS to full 2880 resolution. It doesn't do what Apple does with showing the resolution at 1440 effectively (relative size). So everything is very tiny at full resolution.

Going to contact Parallels and see if they have a fix coming. Other than that, I have to scale it to 1440 which is fuzzy and not at retina resolution.

Anyone have a fix?

Bryan

----------


EDIT: Forgot to say I'm using a retina MacBook Pro.

osiris24x
Jun 24, 2013, 03:46 PM
Makes no sense. Why would I have a virtual machine of a Mac, on a Mac?

So you can play with new Mac operating systems without risking your stable install and your data? ;)