PDA

View Full Version : Import mp3 to GarageBand




EEcuber17
Nov 6, 2005, 02:48 PM
Bassically. Can you import a song from iTunes/mp3 into garageband?

Im just wondering if this is possible. I want to add a song as a track, then record things and add to it. I can always record the song playing, but it sounds like crap. Is this possible?

What about with a 3rd party app?



mad jew
Nov 6, 2005, 05:07 PM
I literally drag and drop the song from iTunes into Garageband. You can do it from Finder too. :)

EEcuber17
Nov 6, 2005, 05:58 PM
0.0

*slaps forehead*

Wow, I feel dumb.

mad jew
Nov 6, 2005, 06:01 PM
Don't feel dumb. It took almost two and a half hours for MacRumors to churn out an answer. :D

quigleybc
Nov 8, 2005, 02:52 PM
I literally drag and drop the song from iTunes into Garageband. You can do it from Finder too. :)



i was always under the impression that to import a track into G band it had to be in aiff format? So, you can import mp3? Learn something new everyday....

mad jew
Nov 8, 2005, 05:04 PM
MP3 works fine for me. Diddlee dee... Sorry, just had to make it rhyme. :p

I'll stop now. :o

beatsme
Nov 9, 2005, 09:15 PM
always thought .aif sounded better, but whatever makes you happy.

hyperDoc
Jun 4, 2006, 12:32 PM
I can drag music from CD's I have purchased and get the little "+" sign , but music I have purchased from iTunes itself just jumps back into iTunes after dragging attempts onto GBand. Is this part of iTunes' copyright protection ?




:mad: I literally drag and drop the song from iTunes into Garageband. You can do it from Finder too. :)

p0intblank
Jun 4, 2006, 02:19 PM
Always remember something I tell a lot of people regarding Mac OS X:

If you think you can do it, you probably can.

I actually got that off someone on here. It's very good advice... and very true. :)

AJ Muni
Jun 4, 2006, 02:35 PM
Always remember something I tell a lot of people regarding Mac OS X:

If you think you can do it, you probably can.

I actually got that off someone on here. It's very good advice... and very true. :)

I've always done that, and its amazing how it seems to work most of the time

p0intblank
Jun 4, 2006, 11:54 PM
I've always done that, and its amazing how it seems to work most of the time

I still get all giddy when the simplest things seem to work. :D

dogbone
Jun 5, 2006, 02:10 AM
I thought that GarageBand only works with AIFF and that if you drag an mp3 in it converts it on the fly.

mad jew
Jun 5, 2006, 03:42 AM
I can drag music from CD's I have purchased and get the little "+" sign , but music I have purchased from iTunes itself just jumps back into iTunes after dragging attempts onto GBand. Is this part of iTunes' copyright protection ?


Yeah, I think that's a DRM thing. Otherwise, it'd be far too easy to strip the DRM. :(


I thought that GarageBand only works with AIFF and that if you drag an mp3 in it converts it on the fly.


Yep, that sounds right. :)

Rug13y
Jun 7, 2006, 09:00 AM
How would you get an mp3 track to sync up with GB's sequencer?

GoodRiddancePC
Feb 18, 2007, 01:43 AM
Ugh! Tonight, the same thing happened, only it happened with every song I tried (except one). Is there any way to fix this? I'm eternally frustrated!:confused:

I can drag music from CD's I have purchased and get the little "+" sign , but music I have purchased from iTunes itself just jumps back into iTunes after dragging attempts onto GBand. Is this part of iTunes' copyright protection ?



:mad:

CanadaRAM
Feb 18, 2007, 02:20 AM
Ugh! Tonight, the same thing happened, only it happened with every song I tried (except one). Is there any way to fix this? I'm eternally frustrated!:confused:

Make a playlist and burn the iTunes tracks to an AUDIO CD, then re-rip that CD to MP3 format (or just use the AIFFs)

(BTW - great thread resurrection - some classic MadJew in there...)

spaceface2012
Dec 27, 2011, 02:45 PM
Take my advice. Convert mp3 to aiff files before importing into garageband. Your ears will thank you. In itunes click itunes, preferences, general, import settings. set the encoder to aiff, close, then open itunes advanced menu, click create aiff version, done. You're welcome.