PDA

View Full Version : How prevalent is the wifi issue on the new MBA?




etcher
Jun 24, 2013, 07:45 PM
How many people with the new MBA are actually experiencing wifi issues? It seems that quite a few people are experiencing them at https://discussions.apple.com/thread/5100655?start=0&tstart=0

I've been planning on purchasing the new MBA for a while now but this is holding me back.



shenan1982
Jun 24, 2013, 07:46 PM
How many people with the new MBA are actually experiencing wifi issues? It seems that quite a few people are experiencing them at https://discussions.apple.com/thread/5100655?start=0&tstart=0

I've been planning on purchasing the new MBA for a while now but this is holding me back.

I bought 3 and none of them have the issue. My guess is it'll turn out to be something interfering (ie another app or piece of hardware) but not enough data has been collected yet. I wouldn't let it stop your purchase.

etcher
Jun 24, 2013, 07:48 PM
I bought 3 and none of them have the issue. My guess is it'll turn out to be something interfering (ie another app or piece of hardware) but not enough data has been collected yet. I wouldn't let it stop your purchase.
Are you on an Apple router?

Saberon
Jun 24, 2013, 07:52 PM
The issue seems widespread because only people with the problem are reporting anything. The other 99% of users who don't have problems aren't posting.

shenan1982
Jun 24, 2013, 08:06 PM
Are you on an Apple router?

yes, but have used with non apple routers as well (I travel often so have used on over 20 routers in the last 2 weeks since purchase)

JMountainDew
Jun 24, 2013, 08:18 PM
I have a Linksys router at home and an Actiontec router at work. My new mba connects and stays connected to both of them well, but the webpages do seem to load a bit slower on the Linksys.

etcher
Jun 25, 2013, 01:26 PM
Any other MBA owners want to chime in?

mj1108
Jun 25, 2013, 01:29 PM
No issues here. I have a Linksys E3000 router at home w/ DD-WRT (using WPA2). I've also connected at Starbucks with no issues at all.

scaredpoet
Jun 25, 2013, 02:07 PM
No issues here on Cisco and Motorola Wifi Routers on my 2013 13" MBA.

It looks like fi you do have a problem though, Apple will exchange your macBook Air.

mdhwoods
Jun 25, 2013, 02:21 PM
Have had it for just about 2 weeks. No issues at all. Connecting to an apple airport extreme ac router.

wermy
Jun 25, 2013, 02:41 PM
Only had mine for a couple days, but zero issues so far (Linksys WRT320N at home, running DD-WRT; also connected to a couple public hot spots).

jsw80
Jun 25, 2013, 03:20 PM
Mine drops randomly from time to time. I either turn off/on the wifi and if that doesn't fix it, I have to restart. Arris router with a 11" macbook air i7/8/256

mattferg
Jun 25, 2013, 04:07 PM
No issues here on a DrayTek router, a Cisco router, a BT Homehub or a Sky SagemCom router, or my Lumia as a hotspot.

mj1108
Jun 25, 2013, 04:15 PM
I'm wondering if Apple may have been given a batch of defective wireless cards since there doesn't seem to be a rhyme or reason why some people are having no problems while others are having nothing but.

mattferg
Jun 25, 2013, 04:16 PM
I'm wondering if Apple may have been given a batch of defective wireless cards since there doesn't seem to be a rhyme or reason why some people are having no problems while others are having nothing but.

One explanation was that some people are using routers with the wifi channel set to auto while some have fixed.

jedolley
Jun 25, 2013, 04:18 PM
I haven't had any WiFi issues with my MBA and a Cradlepoint router using a LTE connection card.

God of Rapture
Jun 25, 2013, 05:01 PM
No problems for me on my base model 13".

Normally connect to the new 802.11ac Time Capsule. But have connected to other devices without issue.

ApplNat
Jun 25, 2013, 05:06 PM
I'm having issues at work, connecting to an older Linksys router (and I have no control over that router). At home my connection (Dlink 655) seems to be fine.