PDA

View Full Version : ATV3 - Plex Connect - HT Set Up

warrell
Jun 25, 2013, 04:21 AM
Hey Guys,

I confess to be a total noob when it comes to this!

Here is what I currently do I have about 1TB of movies stored on a external hard drive, which are also in my iTunes library which I hook up to my MBP and then am able to play through my ATV3.

What I want to do is be able to do is play all my movies through my ATV3 (with the possibility of adding more ATV's to the house) at any given time without the need for cables etc.

Would a Mac Mini G4 enable me to do this if so how would you suggest setting it up? Running Plex Connect a possibility?

If not what alternative should I look at NAS?

waw74
Jun 25, 2013, 12:00 PM
i would check out, and ask questions in the plex connect forums (http://forums.plexapp.com/index.php/forum/136-appletv-plexconnect/), instead of here, you'll get people with much more knowledge about that software.

if everything is already in iTunes, that's probably your best option.
a G4 would be able to handle running iTunes, and sharing to the aTV.

if it's movies you've purchased from the iTunes store, then you must play them with iTunes, or using the native options on the aTV.

for plexconnect, depending on what format your movies are in, a G4 might be a bit slow, If they are already in a format supported by the aTV, it will be fine, if the server is having to convert, you'll probably run into issues.

the plex server will run on some NAS devices, but you'll run into the same horsepower problem that you have with the G4.

plex connect is still very new software, and the install process can require a decent amount of software troubleshooting at the moment. and you may run into limitations or bugs that haven't been addressed yet.

smellalot
Jun 25, 2013, 02:40 PM
I think plex is Intel only. So it won't run on your Mac mini at all.

institute
Jun 25, 2013, 05:51 PM
Edited

dugbug
Jun 27, 2013, 08:16 AM
Hey Guys,