PDA

View Full Version : MBA 2013 and 2560x1600/1440 display performance




kegler
Jun 26, 2013, 04:10 AM
Anyonsing it with the apple thunder bolt display? Any performance drop when using with such monitor?
Dell u3011? 3014?



CARABAO
Jun 26, 2013, 10:41 AM
hi, first of all I'm not using any of the monitors you mentioned, but my home setup is: maxed out 2012 MBA 11" plus a Dell u2713hm (2560x1440). No hiccups, drives it very smooth.

I'm using the Startech mini displayport to displayport cable and it drives the display at its full resolution. I use the monitor for extra screen real estate for xcode, coda and adobe cs6. I run most of the apps mentioned at the same time.

Hope this helps.

Cheers,
Greg

scaredpoet
Jun 26, 2013, 10:44 AM
I'm using a 1680 x 1050 external display on my office setup, with no issues. Everything scrolls very smoothly. No stutterring.

kegler
Jun 26, 2013, 10:50 AM
no one uses a larger display for some light gaming?

Leikocyte
Jun 26, 2013, 11:07 AM
no one uses a larger display for some light gaming?

People that are connecting the Air to an external monitor probably also have a decent desktop to game on. But I'm interested too in this. I wonder how HD5000 will handle high resolutions. It's probably going to be a similar case to the rMBP w/o dGPU.

kegler
Jun 26, 2013, 04:38 PM
People that are connecting the Air to an external monitor probably also have a decent desktop to game on. But I'm interested too in this. I wonder how HD5000 will handle high resolutions. It's probably going to be a similar case to the rMBP w/o dGPU.

I have a desktop as well, just wondering if I can do without it if I'm just playing light games like dota 2 etc
I can't play fps at all now, feels giddy. Even 3d mmorpg makes me giddy

eriklinder
Jun 26, 2013, 04:46 PM
I have my base 11" plugged in to my 2012 iMac through a thunderbolt cable and unfortunately I do get some stuttering when scrolling in Safari.

Brandon263
Jun 26, 2013, 10:33 PM
Anyonsing it with the apple thunder bolt display? Any performance drop when using with such monitor?
Dell u3011? 3014?

I have the base 2013 13 inch MBA 13 and I'm using it with my Thunderbolt Display in clamshell mode. Everything is super-responsive and there's no lag even though I have about 20 Chrome tabs open and iTunes, Mail, Calendar, iPhoto, Reeder, Kindle, Textedit, Pages, Readiris, Spotify, AirFoil and Preview open as well. So far, it is handling all my routine tasks similar to my 15 inch rMBP.

I did run into some problems (http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1600495) when I first booted it up, but they disappeared after I restarted it, reset PRAM and SMC and used ONYX's cleaning sequence.

kegler
Jun 27, 2013, 12:30 AM
I have the base 2013 13 inch MBA 13 and I'm using it with my Thunderbolt Display in clamshell mode. Everything is super-responsive and there's no lag even though I have about 20 Chrome tabs open and iTunes, Mail, Calendar, iPhoto, Reeder, Kindle, Textedit, Pages, Readiris, Spotify, AirFoil and Preview open as well. So far, it is handling all my routine tasks similar to my 15 inch rMBP.

I did run into some problems (http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1600495) when I first booted it up, but they disappeared after I restarted it, reset PRAM and SMC and used ONYX's cleaning sequence.

Considering to sell my u3011 for an ATD, the additional benefits of thunderbolt port and ethernet port

Brandon263
Jun 27, 2013, 02:14 AM
Considering to sell my u3011 for an ATD, the additional benefits of thunderbolt port and ethernet port

I would definitely buy the Thunderbolt. Great thing is that you can keep it while selling and buying different Macs and it increases your computers' connectivity.

kegler
Jun 27, 2013, 10:38 AM
I would definitely buy the Thunderbolt. Great thing is that you can keep it while selling and buying different Macs and it increases your computers' connectivity.

the problem is I still got a windows desktop... so ATD is not that friendly with windows desktop from what I understand:D

kap09
Jun 27, 2013, 11:21 AM
I'm driving a Dell u2412m with my maxed 13'' at 1920x1200 and it's been perfect so far. I know that's not as high res as you were asking about, but figure it's a data point for you.

I was originally going to go with the ATD until I realized it wasn't compatible with the mid-09 MBP that still gets regular use in our home. Still kind of wish I had anyway, haha.

fongyuen
Jun 27, 2013, 02:26 PM
using my 2013 mba with a monoprice 27" 2560x1440 monitor. haven't tried gaming on it (using it for work) but no problems so far. using Totalspaces and it def. transitions btw spaces smoother than when i was using my 17" penryn mbp.