PDA

View Full Version : Brand new 2013 MBA - Not impressed

SuicidalTissue
Jun 26, 2013, 02:35 PM
So, i got my MBA 13" CTO I7/8/128 Yesterday, beautiful machine indeed. Booted up nicely, installed a few apps and charged it up, while charging i was just browsing as normal.

Trouble started today...

I'm a young student who has a large ish Minecraft server, i do alot of gaming in general and a fair bit of programming so it is needed that i can access minecraft and play decently.

So i boot up the machine, open Minecraft and skype, and start playing, 3 mins in, computer crashes, pixelates. I have seen this on here happening on other laptops, or something similar.

This was the screen
http://i.sobmc.me/images/imagevzv.jpg

I forced shutdown and tried to restart. Wouldnt turn on. Googled it and was reccomended to reset the SMC and PRAM, did that. Tried to turn it on, nothing.

So i put the laptop back down and waited about an hour. Turned it on, it wouldnt load OSX, just a grey screen with a circle.

Googled again and rebooted into recovery mode. Reformatted the drive and tried to reinstall, it failed 2 times while doing this, due to it crashing and showing this pixelated screen.

I left it for a while and then began to try again. Finally, got OSX back running, installed my apps again, tried minecraft and it crashed again; luckily enough it restarted straight away.

I called apple and they told me to do a Hardware test, completed it. It said the mac was fully functional.

Called up my local apple store and they managed to squeeze me in even though they apparently had no slots left. They basically said it could be 3 things. Screen, CPU or Graphics card. I know its defo not the screen, as it is usable, as long as the CPU isnt being used intensively. So its either the CPU or Graphics, Graphics is built into the CPU on this mac. So its the CPU. I arranged to get it replaced at this point.