PDA

View Full Version : Can my MBA allow multiple users with individual rights/profiles?




Gorrfink
Jun 28, 2013, 06:42 PM
Apologies if this is in the wrong thread.

I have a 2012 13/256/I7/8gb MBA and after an interesting year, am now living with my SO who having seen my mac compared to her Acer Celeron pos now wants to use mine. Whilst I don't have a shady porn habit past, I would like it very much if there was a username/password/rights to programs (or dual running of mail etc. so she can see hers and I can see mine) so that I don't have to worry about leaving my amazon/fb/linkedin/email/ whatever logged in when I log off.

Is this possible? I'm not looking for a gradatim faq, but some pointers as to how to do this would be nice.
Cheers



Dalton63841
Jun 28, 2013, 06:48 PM
You mean like the Users & Groups prefpane in System Preferences? It's pretty easy to add a second user, just like Windows has.

Gorrfink
Jun 28, 2013, 07:05 PM
You mean like the Users & Groups prefpane in System Preferences? It's pretty easy to add a second user, just like Windows has.

Yes, pretty much like that. Sadly I'm not at all hot on OSX so if anyone can point me to a guide on how to do this, I would be very grateful.

Dalton63841
Jun 28, 2013, 07:11 PM
Yes, pretty much like that. Sadly I'm not at all hot on OSX so if anyone can point me to a guide on how to do this, I would be very grateful.

1. Go into your apps and find System Preferences. Click on that.
2. About the 4th row down far left you will see Users & Groups. Click on that.
3. Click on the padlock in the bottom left corner and type in your password.
4. Click the + sign on the left, right above the padlock.
5. Choose Administrator or Standard account, and fill out the information, then click Create User.

6. Profit?

Gorrfink
Jun 28, 2013, 07:26 PM
1. Go into your apps and find System Preferences. Click on that.
2. About the 4th row down far left you will see Users & Groups. Click on that.
3. Click on the padlock in the bottom left corner and type in your password.
4. Click the + sign on the left, right above the padlock.
5. Choose Administrator or Standard account, and fill out the information, then click Create User.

6. Profit?

number 3 got me. Thank you so much. I am really impressed by how well it isolates accounts and so easily too (when you click the padlock, doh!)

As for number 6. Oh yes, I will profit!

Dalton63841
Jun 28, 2013, 07:47 PM
number 3 got me. Thank you so much. I am really impressed by how well it isolates accounts and so easily too (when you click the padlock, doh!)

As for number 6. Oh yes, I will profit!

Haha number 3 got me for the first bit when I got my first Mac. It's a nice little security. Also, if you want to see REAL user account isolation, after step 3, Control+Click on the User account name on the left hand side and click Advanced Options. Everything right down to being able to change the actual location of each individual user account.

Gorrfink
Jun 30, 2013, 07:52 PM
Haha number 3 got me for the first bit when I got my first Mac. It's a nice little security. Also, if you want to see REAL user account isolation, after step 3, Control+Click on the User account name on the left hand side and click Advanced Options. Everything right down to being able to change the actual location of each individual user account.

The advanced looked like I could easily make a mess of it, but nice to know for the future. Weird thing now is that I cannot drag programs to the dock on her account. Mine is fine. I applied all the options necessary (from what I can see) but progs like firefox, and others will ghost onto the dock and not stick. Odd.

Dalton63841
Jun 30, 2013, 08:17 PM
The advanced looked like I could easily make a mess of it, but nice to know for the future. Weird thing now is that I cannot drag programs to the dock on her account. Mine is fine. I applied all the options necessary (from what I can see) but progs like firefox, and others will ghost onto the dock and not stick. Odd.

While you are logged into her account, open Terminal and type:

rm ~/Library/Preferences/com.apple.dock.{db,plist}; killall Dock

That will reset the dock.