PDA

View Full Version : PowerMac config for still imaging

Simon H
Nov 8, 2005, 09:02 PM
Well, I am about to come over to Apple after a lifetime of Windows but need some help.
I am a photographer and am looking at a PowerMac to be my main imaging machine - prime uses will be RAW conversions (Canon 1DSII so appx 20mb RAW files for 100mb 15 bit TIFF) and Photoshop CS2 along with normal mail/web etc
The spec i am planning on is a quad with 4gb RAM and the 7800 video upgrade (from my understanding Aperture will make use of the extra video card performance - is this correct ?)
So far, so good. Disks is where i am stuck. Currently on my Windows machine, I have 10,000 rpm raptor for OS, another for PS scratch, RAID1 array for data and an external firewire disk for backup.
With the PowerMac, i was thinking about a 10,000 raptor for OS, 250gb internal for data, 2x firewire for replicated backups - one FW disk would also be scratch for PS.

This raises a couple of questions ;

1. Is this config viable ?
2. How easy/hard is it to reinstall OS X onto another disk ? I imagine it's just an install but want to make sure there are no gotchas...
3. Do the Raptors give significant benefits ? On XP, they have proven significantly faster but i'm not sure whether they have the same effect on OS X.

Also any date for Aperture's release ? This was the final thing that got me ready to switch....

Anything i've missed ? :D

cheers

Simon

Bear
Nov 8, 2005, 09:09 PM
The spec i am planning on is a quad with 4gb RAM and the 7800 video upgrade (from my understanding Aperture will make use of the extra video card performance - is this correct ?) Yes, Aperture will.

So far, so good. Disks is where i am stuck. Currently on my Windows machine, I have 10,000 rpm raptor for OS, another for PS scratch, RAID1 array for data and an external firewire disk for backup.
With the PowerMac, i was thinking about a 10,000 raptor for OS, 250gb internal for data, 2x firewire for replicated backups.