PDA

View Full Version : G5 analog audio line-in


pumbaa
Nov 9, 2005, 08:50 AM
I have a rev.A Dual 2gig and want to know if I can hook up a Presonus TubePre using a 1/4" to 1/8" to the G5 audio line-in? I will be using it to get stronger guitar/mic signals to use with Garageband. Does anyone know if this would work or damage the computer? Thanks!

Presonus link: http://presonus.com/tubepre.html

neut
Nov 9, 2005, 09:44 AM
you might as well as get an audio card (PCI, USB, or FW) if you're concerned about sound quality. the 1/8" analog in will do the job, but the optical or a dedicated audio in would be best. :)


peace | neut

decksnap
Nov 9, 2005, 10:39 AM
I use a standard amp lineout into my G5 with a 1/4 to mini adaptor and it works fine.The weight and length of the connection on the input area may cause a strain, ie it will be a bit delicate, so be careful with it or you could muck up your input.

This method does work fine.