PDA

View Full Version : Triple Screen with MBA?




deviance
Jul 3, 2013, 02:08 PM
hey all,

I used to have a triple head 2 go for work, but no longer have access to one.
I'm tempted to get three external monitors given current prices - but wanted to know what the most cost effective solution would be to run three from a 2013 MBA?

I've read some reviews on USB > DVI converters, but would a MBA run them three of them effectively from a splitter? I'm guessing not ...

Just FYI - it's not for super high res gaming or anything ...



mattferg
Jul 3, 2013, 03:59 PM
hey all,

I used to have a triple head 2 go for work, but no longer have access to one.
I'm tempted to get three external monitors given current prices - but wanted to know what the most cost effective solution would be to run three from a 2013 MBA?

I've read some reviews on USB > DVI converters, but would a MBA run them three of them effectively from a splitter? I'm guessing not ...

Just FYI - it's not for super high res gaming or anything ...

If you're buying monitors, get thunderbolt ones you can daisy chain and run all off one thunderbolt port on the MBA. I think you can do that, anyways.

w00tini
Jul 3, 2013, 06:30 PM
I am also looking for confirmation that two TB displays can be daisy chained to the MBA. Anyone?

w00tini
Jul 3, 2013, 06:47 PM
confirmed: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT5219#dispnum

iterva
Jul 12, 2013, 05:58 PM
I was intrested in this setup myself, and after some searching my understanding is that to be able to run 3 displays with MBA you would need to use (due to limitations on the thunderbolt chipset used in MBA):
2 displays with thunderbolt daisy chain
1 display through a USB to HDMI/DVI adapter