PDA

View Full Version : MBA 13 + Tv display 1080p




DJTaurus
Jul 3, 2013, 10:46 PM
I have my MBA plugged into my tv with Hamilton to mini display port. When I choose 1080p and mirror displays I don't have full screen view. Left and right sides of the image are black. I got full screen on my tv only when I choose 720p.



Ollifi
Jul 4, 2013, 01:52 AM
That'Ęs due to MBA native resolution. Have you tried "only TV" mode, so shutdown MBA screen? Can you then put 1080p ?

Artso
Jul 4, 2013, 03:58 AM
Wait, so you can't use a 1080p TV and the MBA screen at the same time at full resolution?

Ollifi
Jul 4, 2013, 04:16 AM
No, since MBA screen is not 1080p.

DJTaurus
Jul 4, 2013, 04:17 AM
Yes.

Sorry if I am noob.

I just want to know if it is possible to have 1080p with full screen at my tv and with mirror display.

Artso
Jul 4, 2013, 04:42 AM
No, since MBA screen is not 1080p.

Sorry, didn't realize you guys were talking about mirror mode. I've never owned a Mac but in extended desktop mode you should be able to connect a higher resolution display and use both at full resolution at the same time, right?

Ollifi
Jul 4, 2013, 04:58 AM
Sorry, didn't realize you guys were talking about mirror mode. I've never owned a Mac but in extended desktop mode you should be able to connect a higher resolution display and use both at full resolution at the same time, right?

Yes, that is what I suppose is possible.

----------

Yes.

Sorry if I am noob.

I just want to know if it is possible to have 1080p with full screen at my tv and with mirror display.

I suppose it is, but I cannot be 100% sure

http://www.apple.com/macbook-air/specs.html
Intel HD Graphics 5000
Dual display and video mirroring: Simultaneously supports full native resolution on the built-in display and up to 2560 by 1600 pixels on an external display, both at millions of colors

DJTaurus
Jul 4, 2013, 05:50 AM
So why when i choose 1080p on my sony tv i dont get full screen but black space on both right and left side of the screen?

DJTaurus
Jul 4, 2013, 08:02 AM
thats the issue i have
https://discussions.apple.com/thread/4386030?start=0&tstart=0

Ollifi
Jul 4, 2013, 08:29 AM
How big is the black space? I have some black space with Win7 laptop.