PDA

View Full Version : Help! Apple TV performance issues

rrmoore73
Jul 5, 2013, 12:00 AM
I'm not tech savvy and I am lost when it comes to my AppleTv.
A) when I stream Pandora from my iPhone or iPad through my Apple TV, it pauses randomly.
B) as I'm currently watching a show through Netflix, the show is is pixelated and buffers at times
C) if I download a movie from iTunes it literally takes 23 hours to download, which is comical because I have 24 hours to watch it.

I have the most recent Atv and even returned my prior one, assuming was wrong with it and causing these problems. Then I assumed it was my wifi (I have Verizon fits), so I upgraded to a 'faster package'.
Then today. When I simply tried to stream a song I have ON my iPhone through the Atv, it even randomly played the music.
Please help. What is the problem?
My Atv, my router, my wifi?
Thanks in advance.

Che Castro
Jul 5, 2013, 12:22 AM
Run a speed test on speedtest.net and post the results here

http://www.speedtest.net/

rrmoore73
Jul 5, 2013, 12:47 AM
Done

Ping 14ms
Download 27mbps
Upload 23.8 Mbps

Run a speed test on speedtest.net and post the results here

http://www.speedtest.net/

bucksaddle
Jul 5, 2013, 02:13 AM
Then I assumed it was my wifi (I have Verizon fits), so I upgraded to a 'faster package'.

Upgrading to a "faster package" from Verizon will have no affect on your Wi-Fi speeds and from what you have posted it does sound like your Wi-Fi is an issue. Can you plug the Apple TV directly into your router with an Ethernet cable - this would be the first troubleshooting test.

if I download a movie from iTunes it literally takes 23 hours to download, which is comical because I have 24 hours to watch it.

You have 30 days to watch the movie until you hit play - once you have done that then you have 24 hours to finish watching it.

Julien
Jul 5, 2013, 06:04 AM
...My Atv, my router, my wifi?
Thanks in advance.