PDA

View Full Version : ibook mouse jumpin w 1.5gb of ram


g^3
Nov 10, 2005, 01:59 PM
hello everyone,
I just upgraded my new ibook with a 1GB stick of crucial ram. Everything else is working fine and faster, but the mouse cursor is kinda jumpy. When I move the mouse a little the cursor moves halfway accross the screen with some lag. I remember hearing that some ibooks are having trouble supporting 1.5gb of ram. Is anyone else having this problem? Should I return the 1gb stick and get different one or should I downgrade to a second 512mb stick? Any suggestions are appreciated.
Cheers,
g

shadowmoses
Nov 10, 2005, 03:09 PM
I ahvent heard about anyone having a problem when upgrading to 1.5gb, maybe you should cahnge the mouse speeds in your system preferences.....

If that doesnt work give apple a call and tell them the situation and im sure they will be able to help,

SHadow

Laser47
Nov 10, 2005, 03:19 PM
Ive herd about problems with the new ibooks upgrading the ram. The symptoms are Airport issues, kernel tasks which use 100% or the cpu, and mouse juminess. Currently there isint a solution to the problem, but to take it to a genuis.
http://earthlingsoft.net/ssp/blog/2005/10/ibook_ram_problem#public
http://www.macnn.com/articles/05/10/10/ibook.ram.problems/

California
Nov 10, 2005, 03:49 PM
Ive herd about problems with the new ibooks upgrading the ram. The symptoms are Airport issues, kernel tasks which use 100% or the cpu, and mouse juminess. Currently there isint a solution to the problem, but to take it to a genuis.
http://earthlingsoft.net/ssp/blog/2005/10/ibook_ram_problem#public
http://www.macnn.com/articles/05/10/10/ibook.ram.problems/

Yeah and I hate to sound paranoid but I suspected that there was some programing thing going on with Apple that they were trying to prevent people from using third party ram. It started when the last rev of PBs would have their bottom slot fry with using third party ram. Sorry to sound so conspiratorial, but why the heck would third party ram cause the machine to freak out otherwise? I don't get it. That seems like it would have to be a programmed problem.

mjstew33
Nov 10, 2005, 03:53 PM
I've got an iBook G4 1.42GHz with 1.5GB and I haven't had any problems.

Hope yours is resolved soon, though!

Laser47
Nov 10, 2005, 04:36 PM
Im giong to upgrade my ibook to 1.5gigs soon. I hope i dont have this problem aswell.

g^3
Nov 10, 2005, 04:43 PM
hi all,
thank you for your comments, i'll be callng apple shortly. Come to think of if my airport has been acting up a lil since the upgrade, but i haven't experienced any kernel issues that i know of. i'll let you know what they say.

tangerineyum
Nov 10, 2005, 05:28 PM
hello everyone, this is not a new problem and there may be at least different threads on this topic as well as a very long thread on the apple discussion site. The problem occurs when your computer is using more than 1 gig of real memory and has high data transfer across your wireless connection. The latest airport update put a small band aide on the problem.

g^3
Nov 10, 2005, 05:34 PM
hello again,
I just got off the phone w Apple, he had me do the hardware test(passed) and reset the PRAM which seems to solve the problem. In the process of doing this he told me that the new ibooks can accept 1.5gb of ram but are not guarenteed to work properly....then why to they advertise that it can hold up to 1.5gb. what good is 1.5gb if you can't use the computer properly? anyways thanks for your help.

CanadaRAM
Nov 10, 2005, 05:48 PM
Yeah and I hate to sound paranoid but I suspected that there was some programing thing going on with Apple that they were trying to prevent people from using third party ram. It started when the last rev of PBs would have their bottom slot fry with using third party ram. Sorry to sound so conspiratorial, but why the heck would third party ram cause the machine to freak out otherwise? I don't get it. That seems like it would have to be a programmed problem.
Since Apple doesn't make RAM, and there is no way to differentiate between a Samsung M470L2923BN0-CB3 sold by Apple and one sold by a third party company, then, yeah, I agree you sound paranoid :p Seriously, it could be a lot of things but this just ain't one of them.

Thanks
Trevor
CanadaRAM.com

Laser47
Nov 10, 2005, 05:57 PM
Apple just wants us to buy ram from them, even if they dont make it. Sorry, but im not spending 450$ buying ram from apple when I can get a 1gig stick from crucial for 110$. I wonder what apple is thinking when they set the price for ram upgrades, i dont think it costs 300$ to install ram.
Anyhow, Im glad you got your ibook fixed, and i hope I dont get the same problem aswell.

g^3
Nov 10, 2005, 06:09 PM
hello,
problem not fixed. i just ran the photoshop speed test and got a time of over 4mins w 1.5gb of ram, i stopped it midway. when i did the test with the built in 512 the time was somewhere around 2mins 30secs. ram is going back.

Wombert
Nov 10, 2005, 06:39 PM
For christ's sake don't you guys listen to what people tell you. Download the AirPort update that was released last week and the problem is gone.
http://www.apple.com/support/downloads/airportupdate2005001.html (for Tiger)
or
http://www.apple.com/support/downloads/airportextremedriverupdate2005001.html (for Panther).
Oh and just FYI, folks. There is no way a malicious RAM could make your cursor jump without showing other symptoms.

Laser47
Nov 10, 2005, 06:47 PM
hello,
problem not fixed. i just ran the photoshop speed test and got a time of over 4mins w 1.5gb of ram, i stopped it midway. when i did the test with the built in 512 the time was somewhere around 2mins 30secs. ram is going back.
I would reinstall the os, as a last resort. Better than having to be stuck with 512 forever, also try Womberts suggestion it might help your problem.