PDA

View Full Version : Anyone use audio editing to make iTunes sound better?

stedmanalaska
Jul 9, 2013, 03:53 PM
Howdy all. I'm a relative iTunes newbie and am not impressed with the sound variance between recordings on iTunes and all the studio noodling they stick on these 'remastered recordings'. For many years I had radio station production studios to digitally mix and equalize music to my own liking. I realize iTunes has a few tools, but they're pretty weak. I would like to know if someone has any experience using programs like TuneClone and Adobe Audition on their iTunes library for better quality. Is it doable? Can the produced music still be used on iTunes? Any replies will be greatly appreciated.

bwhli
Jul 11, 2013, 01:23 AM
Howdy all. I'm a relative iTunes newbie and am not impressed with the sound variance between recordings on iTunes and all the studio noodling they stick on these 'remastered recordings'. For many years I had radio station production studios to digitally mix and equalize music to my own liking. I realize iTunes has a few tools, but they're pretty weak. I would like to know if someone has any experience using programs like TuneClone and Adobe Audition on their iTunes library for better quality. Is it doable? Can the produced music still be used on iTunes? Any replies will be greatly appreciated.

I wouldn't use destructive editing on my iTunes library. I believe Apple got rid of the built in equalizer on the latest version of iTunes. There are other ways to use an EQ though, including hardware.

cheekypaul
Jul 11, 2013, 07:47 AM
...Can the produced music still be used on iTunes? Any replies will be greatly appreciated.

hi stedmanalaska,
what is it that you don't like about the sound? your post is a bit ambiguous.
iTunes does have an eq, its still there, if you want to adjust the sound but this is primarily to adjust music to suit changing environments or speakers.
it's not to remaster the music.