PDA

View Full Version : Problems creating my own server




jcmoney1010
Jul 15, 2013, 06:06 PM
Alright, I'm working on some web design projects and I've been dissatisfied many of the free servers I have tried. I don't want to pay for a server service because most of the projects I'm working on are really just for learning purposes, as a result I decided to try and set up my own server with an old Macbook Air.

1.I went into my Sharing settings and turn on web sharing, then proceeded to turn on the firewall for extra security.

2.After this I went into my router(Arris) settings and enabled DMZ for that computer, which opened up port 80. I then set up port forwarding and port triggering

3.From here I went to No-IP.com and set up an account, where I signed up for a subdomain name and then added a host where I selected the DNS Host(A) option.

4. Lastly, I downloaded their client update manager and set it up to where it "should" work.

The issue though, is that when I type in the subdomain that I setup, it just says page cant be found. What am I missing, clearly there is a step i have overlooked. Is there anyone here who has dealt with no-ip.com, or at least know what I need to do to get this going?



mwhities
Jul 15, 2013, 10:28 PM
Can you open up a browse on this system and type: http://127.0.0.1 ?

If so, how about on a secondary system, type in the LAN IP of the system serving the webpage? Maybe: http://10.0.1.201 ?

If those work I'd check the port forwarding. Also, if they don't work, you don't have the web server configured correctly.

Good luck.

jcmoney1010
Jul 16, 2013, 05:09 PM
Can you open up a browse on this system and type: http://127.0.0.1 ?


Thanks for the reply, I tried this one first and it said page cannot be found. You think it's a misconfiguration of the web server?

jcmoney1010
Jul 16, 2013, 07:17 PM
So after some research I realized that port 443 needs to open as well, and mine is closed. I managed to do port forwarding for port 80 to open that up, but I can't seem to open port 443 in the same manor

talmy
Jul 19, 2013, 12:19 PM
Port 443 is for https. You shouldn't need that. In fact for what you are doing there is no need to do any port forwarding or dynamic DNS setup. You can access that computer by its name or IP address on your LAN. No need to go outside especially since ISPs don't allow running servers (unless you have a business account) and typically block port 80. If the MBA sees it's web server at http://127.0.0.1 you should be good to go.