PDA

View Full Version : Can't understand how to get this app to work

kylefoley76
Jul 18, 2013, 12:35 AM
I'm trying to figure out how to use swi prolog. I'm not a computer programmer so please go easy on me and assume I know very little.

SWI-Prolog is by origin an Unix application, and not a native Macintosh application. It has been brought to the Mac using the MacPorts project, using XQuartz (Macintosh X11) for its graphical capabilities.
2 Installation
XQuartz should be installed prior to SWI-Prolog installation. The installer can be downloaded from the XQuartz web site.

Well, the app works without xquartz. I'm downloading xquartz right now just in case.

2.1 Using MacPorts
Users of the MacPorts system can install the system just like any port using the command below. In addition to the port named swi-prolog providing the stable version, there is a port called swi-prolog-devel providing the development version.

Clear.

The swi-prolog port depends on readline, ncurses, ncursesw, gmp libmcrypt, zlib, expat, and jpeg.

Not clear.

2.2 From the installer
Opening and installing the meta installer installs the required ports from the MacPorts system. The programs are installed in the directory /opt/local/bin. The main executable is named swipl.

Clear.

3 Running SWI-Prolog
Not being a Macintosh Application, SWI-Prolog must be started from a terminal window. This can either be an X11 xterm or Terminal.app from Utilities. For comfortable usage it is necessary to setup some environment variables. The procedure
% sudo port -v selfupdate # make sure we have the latest portfiles % sudo port install swi-prolog

Don't understand.

depends on your shell of choice. On Tiger the default is bash. Add the following lines to the file ~/.bashrc (or create this file if it does not yet exist).

what file? what lines?

Now start X11.App and configure it to autostart at login. Open Terminal.app or xterm and type
% swipl

Where do I type %swipl?