PDA

View Full Version : Powerbook not recognising new RAM!




al3000
Nov 13, 2005, 08:15 AM
I have just installed 512 of ram (crucial) to my new powerbook, I have followed the instructions exactly and it has snapped into place...but it is not showing up in system profiler. The first time it happened I took it out and tried again, but still nothing.

Please help, I really don't know what to do and worry i'm going to damage my system! :eek:

Thanks in advance



varmit
Nov 13, 2005, 12:58 PM
I have just installed 512 of ram (crucial) to my new powerbook, I have followed the instructions exactly and it has snapped into place...but it is not showing up in system profiler. The first time it happened I took it out and tried again, but still nothing.

Please help, I really don't know what to do and worry i'm going to damage my system! :eek:

Thanks in advanceTake it out, send it back to Crucial for another chip, this seems to be bad RAM.

1hot5.0
Nov 13, 2005, 09:53 PM
Take the stick of ram out, and try putting it in again. It may have snapped into place, but not have gone all the way in. If it still does not work after doing this, then I would send the stick of ram back for a replacement.

joecool85
Nov 13, 2005, 10:18 PM
Crucial guarantees their ram, so no worries, just talk to them about it and they will take care of it in a hurry.