PDA

View Full Version : Handbrake problems




Amazee Dayzee
Jul 22, 2013, 08:14 PM
I want to rip movies on the DVDs that I LEGALLY bought to put on iTunes but I am having problems with them. The first is that when I get it into a VLC format, I can't drag it to iTunes to play it and the second problem is its all pixelated. Any help? I am BEGGING you. I have an 18 hour road trip coming up and I need to put my movies on my iPod because my battery will die and we can't charge it. Help me PLEASE!



dynaflash
Jul 22, 2013, 08:19 PM
Gonna need to know waaay more than that. Which preset in hb are you using for starters ? What platform are you on (Mac, Win, Lin ) ?

Amazee Dayzee
Jul 22, 2013, 08:30 PM
The preset is x264 medium and I am using a MacBook Pro.

dynaflash
Jul 22, 2013, 08:33 PM
which HandBrake Preset ? I presume iPod given you are using it on an iPod ?

Amazee Dayzee
Jul 22, 2013, 08:33 PM
iPod Touch yes. And where do I find the preset?

dynaflash
Jul 22, 2013, 08:34 PM
um, in the HB presets. its a drawer on typically the right side.

Amazee Dayzee
Jul 22, 2013, 08:34 PM
And if it helps, the movie is Ratatouille.

dynaflash
Jul 22, 2013, 08:37 PM
No, it doesn't matter the movie. settings matter.

https://trac.handbrake.fr/wiki/Presets

The info for presets was hidden in the user guide.

Amazee Dayzee
Jul 22, 2013, 08:37 PM
Yeah, I haven't touched the presets at all. But under regular, it looks like normal is bolded.

dynaflash
Jul 22, 2013, 08:40 PM
um then maybe select the ipod preset ? Just a wild guess ... :rolleyes:

Amazee Dayzee
Jul 22, 2013, 08:41 PM
It's an iPod Touch, so do I hit iPod or iPod Touch and iPhone?

dynaflash
Jul 22, 2013, 08:45 PM
It's an iPod Touch, so do I hit iPod or iPod Touch and iPhone?

which ipod touch, they have 4 generations of them. Be specific for cripes sake if your in a hurry. 20 questions takes too long.

Amazee Dayzee
Jul 22, 2013, 08:48 PM
I went through ALL the presets and I used the Preview Window button. It STILL comes out all pixelated.

----------

And it was the 5th generation iPod touch.

Amazee Dayzee
Jul 22, 2013, 09:01 PM
Also, if it helps, I have a different version then from what I see in so many YT videos. I think its newer.

http://i43.tinypic.com/14ka5v8.png

Amazee Dayzee
Jul 22, 2013, 09:14 PM
I got it to play on iTunes, but it is still pixelated. HEEEEEEEELP!

Amazee Dayzee
Jul 22, 2013, 09:32 PM
.....Would SOMEBODY please help me? I spent 8 hours on this already. It shouldn't be that hard to fix it! Just tell me what to do! :mad:

dynaflash
Jul 22, 2013, 09:35 PM
well, since I don't know which ipod touch gen you have ... and you seem to think its pixellated with the ipod touch preset ...

try the appletv 3 preset. last gen ipod touches can play it back. if you think that is pixelated on your ipod touch there isn't much I can say I guess.

----------

BTW I presume your are using HandBrake 0.9.9 ? That is the latest but no matter really in your case. previous versions had proper presets for the ipod touch. nothing new there.

Post a screenshot of this " pixellation " if you can. I have never heard of this.

Amazee Dayzee
Jul 22, 2013, 09:37 PM
I have the 5th generation iPod touch. The 5th one. This one: http://www.icreatemagazine.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/10/iPod-Touch.jpg

----------

http://i39.tinypic.com/34nlb3d.png

dynaflash
Jul 22, 2013, 09:38 PM
I have the 5th generation iPod touch. The 5th one. This one: http://www.icreatemagazine.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/10/iPod-Touch.jpg

Afaik there is no way using the ipod or iphone preset you are getting noticeable pixellation on your ipod screen. That said the preset is also designed to save space while also keeping file size low due to the lower storage of the ipod.

Like I said try the atv 3 preset and see if its any better. It should be. But be warned it will also take up more file size due to the higher rez.

Amazee Dayzee
Jul 22, 2013, 09:48 PM
So just because I'm getting pixellation on iTunes I won't get it on my iPod?

And its a little clearer but not by much.

----------

But will it still be pixellated when it goes on my iPod?

dynaflash
Jul 22, 2013, 09:49 PM
So just because I'm getting pixellation on iTunes I won't get it on my iPod?

well, your mac has a much larger screen. so you are stretching it. don't test it in itunes. test it on your ipod. The preset is for your *ipod*.

Amazee Dayzee
Jul 22, 2013, 09:50 PM
Thank you. I will see what happens.

Amazee Dayzee
Jul 22, 2013, 10:13 PM
Still pixellated. Even on my iPod

Amazee Dayzee
Jul 22, 2013, 10:40 PM
I'm gonna keep on posting until somebody decides to help me. It can't be that hard. :mad:

anthony11
Jul 22, 2013, 10:45 PM
I got it to play on iTunes, but it is still pixelated. HEEEEEEEELP!
Why would you use iTunes to play it instead of VLC??

priitv8
Jul 23, 2013, 03:52 AM
1) Do you see the same artifact with every movie you encode?
2) Why are you HandBraking a m4v movie into a m4v movie?
3) Does the original m4v movie play OK on your computer?
4) If yes, where did it come from? If purchased from iTunes, it has DRM protection, so you can't use it outside your own iTunes account. That's the whole idea of DRM copy protection.

dynaflash
Jul 23, 2013, 11:34 AM
According to the original post the OP is going from dvd to m4v. I find it hard to believe that there is pixellation.

Without an activity log from HB posted on pastebin.com and linked here I am very suspect of the ops actual settings.

poorcody
Jul 23, 2013, 12:41 PM
Are you sure you installed the DCSS-decryption library? You have to download and install that after installing Handbrake in order to decode most (all?) commercial DVDs. I believe without it encodes will appear all pixelated.

More info:
http://www.macgasm.net/2012/02/20/vlc-2-0-breaks-dvd-decryption-in-handbrake/

dynaflash
Jul 23, 2013, 02:24 PM
Are you sure you installed the DCSS-decryption library? You have to download and install that after installing Handbrake in order to decode most (all?) commercial DVDs. I believe without it encodes will appear all pixelated.

More info:
http://www.macgasm.net/2012/02/20/vlc-2-0-breaks-dvd-decryption-in-handbrake/

True but note that if the decss library is not available. on the mac it won't even scan for the previews much less encode. yes, the decss library is the same for *all* dvds. The macgui should prompt you to get it if it cannot find it.

PinkyMacGodess
Jul 23, 2013, 04:12 PM
True but note that if the decss library is not available. on the mac it won't even scan for the previews much less encode. yes, the decss library is the same for *all* dvds. The macgui should prompt you to get it if it cannot find it.

Handbrake, in my experience, does prompt you for the module if it's not already installed.

Try clicking on 'Presets', and then 'Update Built-in Presets'. Also try with the 'iPhone & iPod Touch' preset. Don't choose any other options and see if it rips ok. You could also try ripping with the 'Normal' preset and see if it plays on your computer. The 'Universal' preset might be an option too. I've ripped quite a few DVD's with both the older HandBrake and the newer version and never have experienced pixelation issues. It should be easy to track down any issues, but the re-ripping takes time...

Good luck...

drsox
Jul 23, 2013, 04:26 PM
Try doing this :

Get a copy of Make MKV (http://www.makemkv.com/download/)
This will do two things : 1. Get rid of any copy protection. 2. Make a 100% scale MKV.
This might get rid of the pixelation problem.

Then use Handbrake to recode the MKV file to the preset that you need for your iPod. You will have to convert MKV to m4v but Handbrake should do this.

I haven't had to do all this as all I want to do is to make an MKV, so no guarantee that this works.

UPDATE : Just checked in Handbrake and it will open MKV files and convert to MP4 files. Haven't run it as I don't have the pixelation problem.

dynaflash
Jul 23, 2013, 05:59 PM
UPDATE : Just checked in Handbrake and it will open MKV files and convert to MP4 files. Haven't run it as I don't have the pixelation problem.
HB has been able to take in mkv files (and many more) for the last four or five years.

drsox
Jul 23, 2013, 11:26 PM
HB has been able to take in mkv files (and many more) for the last four or five years.

Great. Never had to check before. But HB doesn't remove copy protection (AFAIK) and that may well be the source of the OP's pixelation problem.