PDA

View Full Version : buying powerbook, but...




gavinsan
Nov 13, 2005, 06:02 PM
Well, i'm almost decided in buying a brand new powerbook g4 1,67ghz, 15" last rev.

i'm gonna use it mainly for photoshop, image editing, and some movie editing. Also, internet, office2004, mail and typical computer use.

Does photoshop runs softly in it? I ask this because i saw at photoshoptv (podcast) one guy making a tutorial in his powerbook, and it was low, and buggy...

I'm considering buying 1GB of ram too, can someone help wich to choose?
crucial powerbook ram (http://www.crucial.com/eu/store/listModel.asp?cat=RAM&mfr=Apple&productline=PowerBook)

There are two types of ram for the powerbook g4 1,67ghz 15". whats the best?
these ones:
DDR2 PC2-4200 / DDR2-533 (http://www.crucial.com/eu/store/listparts.asp?Mfr%2BProductline=Apple%2BPowerBook&mfr=Apple&tabid=AM&model=PowerBook+G4+1.67GHz+%2815-inch+Display%29+DDR2&submit=Go)
or these:
DDR PC2700 / DDR333 (http://www.crucial.com/eu/store/listparts.asp?Mfr%2BProductline=Apple%2BPowerBook&mfr=Apple&tabid=AM&model=PowerBook+G4+1.67GHz+%2815-inch+Display%29&submit=Go)

I'm a little confused, because the first ones, "seem" better, but are cheaper... am i wrong? And the ram that comes with the powerbook its "clocked" at 333mhz, what are the clocks for those ones that i posted?

I'm a little worried because, this is my first mac, and i want something good.
Thanks in advance

PS: sorry for my bad "engrish"



grapes911
Nov 13, 2005, 06:04 PM
Photoshop runs fine on the new PowerBooks. Not as nice as the G5 PowerMacs though.

The newest PBs use DDR2.
The one before that uses DDR.

I'd check out http://datamem.com for RAM. It is cheaper, but very good.

Alone2Gether
Nov 13, 2005, 09:05 PM
Keep in mind that the 15" has the horizontal lines issue.

[update] nevermind, I though you were getting the newest rev.

generik
Nov 13, 2005, 09:06 PM
1.67 handles PS perfectly fine.

matticus008
Nov 13, 2005, 10:02 PM
You mean last revision as in the ones debuted in January, correct? If so, only the DDR333 RAM will work. Do NOT buy the DDR2 PC4200, because it won't physically fit in the computer.

Other than that, happy computing! They're sturdy machines and Photoshop runs better on my PowerBook than it did on my dual 1.25GHz G4.

SteveMcQ
Nov 13, 2005, 10:32 PM
Keep in mind that the 15" has the horizontal lines issue.

[update] nevermind, I though you were getting the newest rev.
Let's not make a blanket statement on that. Granted, it seems that a good deal of them do, but there are a few of us that don't.

Bern
Nov 13, 2005, 11:50 PM
I use PS CS2 on my Rev D 12" Powerbook plugged into an external 17" monitor and it runs sweet.

YunusEmre
Nov 14, 2005, 12:10 AM
Keep in mind that the 15" has the horizontal lines issue.

[update] nevermind, I though you were getting the newest rev.

Well I've just bought the latest PB 15", I am still trying to figure out this screen issue. I looked at my screen very, close, with different backgrounds, do not see anything wrong with it :confused:

Edit: never mind, I see SteveMcQ has answered my question, should have read the thread before replying :o

gavinsan
Nov 14, 2005, 02:36 AM
sorry, i 'm gonna buy the newest one, not the last one as i said :p the one with the new screens with "extra" resolution

gavinsan
Nov 14, 2005, 02:18 PM
but the ram, DDR2 PC2-4200 / DDR2-533 (http://www.crucial.com/eu/store/listparts.asp?Mfr%2BProductline=Apple%2BPowerBook&mfr=Apple&tabid=AM&model=PowerBook+G4+1.67GHz+%2815-inch+Display%29+DDR2&submit=Go)
does this means that this ram is clocked at 533mhz? Because the ram that comes with the pBook is clocked at 333mhz :confused:

and... it is ok to have 1,5Gb in the powerbook? (1x1gb + 1x512mb) Some systems need ram in pairs (2x512mb or 2x1gb etc.)

motherduce
Nov 14, 2005, 03:07 PM
but the ram, DDR2 PC2-4200 / DDR2-533 (http://www.crucial.com/eu/store/listparts.asp?Mfr%2BProductline=Apple%2BPowerBook&mfr=Apple&tabid=AM&model=PowerBook+G4+1.67GHz+%2815-inch+Display%29+DDR2&submit=Go)
does this means that this ram is clocked at 533mhz? Because the ram that comes with the pBook is clocked at 333mhz :confused:

and... it is ok to have 1,5Gb in the powerbook? (1x1gb + 1x512mb) Some systems need ram in pairs (2x512mb or 2x1gb etc.)

I think the system doesn't allow for the RAM to run faster than 333 on the new PBs. They are not using the full potential of the PC4200. And yes, it's fine to have 1.5 in there.

revisionA
Nov 14, 2005, 03:12 PM
ddr2 uses less power than ddr

167 is the bus speed, the memory is clocked at double, hence the name double date rate DDR!

The CPU is on a 10x multiplier and something similar breaks down the peripherals and chipset to their speeds. Just like in PCs... only different.

$

FFTT
Nov 15, 2005, 03:20 AM
Datamem is selling DDR2 PC4200 1 GB single stick DIMMs with the correct specifications for about $100 each.

Crucial is charging a premium for Apple guaranteed RAM
when you can also find the same exact spec on Crucial RAM at Newegg
for half the price.

OWC is also a great retailer and carries several options.