PDA

View Full Version : Mac won't mount external HDD since 10.8.4 update?

sumshiftyguy
Jul 26, 2013, 07:03 AM
Hi All

I'm fairly new to Mac (3mths) so still finding my feet...hopefully someone is able to help me here!

Hardware:
MBP 2.7Ghz running (now) Os 10.8.4
WD HD5000D032-000 (the old drive)
3TB WD Red (the new drive)

Solutions tried to the problem (described in detail below):
- restart Mac
- restart eHDD
- different USB and power cables for eHH
- different Mac(mini)
- removed eHDD from stock housing and used SATA docking station
- bought new HDD and used with SATA docking station

Now to the detail of my problems:
I've had a WD 500GB external HDD for about 8yrs. Formatted FAT32. Used with PC/Win laptop no issues.

Switched to Mac and no issues at all. However after a recent trip to Japan I plugged in the HDD to back up all the photos and vids I'd taken (I took my Mac with me to download off the the various SD cards,etc), the HDD plugged in and booted fine as normal and file transfer was initiated. The folder was large (don't recall how much but a few GB at least). Everything seemed to be progressing fine so left both Mac and HDD plugged in and carried on watching tv. Noticed a few mins later that an error message had popped up saying disk could not be found (or something similar).

HDD was no longer visible. Therefore I unplugged and reconnected and.... nothing. I can see the HDD in Disk Utility but it's not mounted. Options to verify/repair disk are greyed out. At this point I tried using different cables and USB ports and still no improvement. I've also tried restarting both Mac and HDD.

A few hours of reading forum posts suggested the HDD housing may be the culprit as it was quite old and prone to failing. As I'd tried all else, I went out and bought a SATA docking station and removed the HDD from its stock housing. This yielded the same results - I can see the HDD clearly in Disk utility but can't mount or verify/repair.