Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

oester

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 7, 2011
Rochester, MN
I have a 2013 MBA with Apple TBD. I came upon a second monitor (Dell 2212H) that I want to add - what's the best way to do that? I won't be doing anything graphics intensive or gaming. Could I just get a TB-DVI adapter and hook it up, daisy chaining it from the TBD?

Bob

Stetrain

macrumors 68040
Feb 6, 2009
You can't connect a Mini Displayport to video adapter directly to the back of the TBD because of a limitation with Thunderbolt. You would have to connect another Thunderbolt device in between the TBD and your other monitor, like a hard drive.

scaredpoet

macrumors 604
Apr 6, 2007

That doesn't really work how most people think. Matrox is tricking the DisplayPort interface into thinking two monitors are really one extremely wide monitor. So he's have to have two extra monitors to attach to this, and be okay with them being side by side.

----------

Then perhaps a USB display adapter on the back of the TBD?

You could try it, but reviews on that are mixed. A lot of people complain that the display is slow and laggy coming from USB.

jdechko

macrumors 601
Jul 1, 2004
Stetrain's advice will give you the best performance. At higher resolutions, there are still a lot of reports that USB video adapters are slow and laggy.

Buy the "cheapest"/most useful device with thunderbolt pass-through and stick it in between the TBD and the Dell.

So:

MBA <-TBD <- Random TB device <- Dell

Something like this will work, although you still need a TB cable: http://www.lacie.com/us/products/product.htm?id=10574

jdechko

macrumors 601
Jul 1, 2004
So - any suggestion on what that might be?

Bob

First off, a disclaimer. I have not used any of these devices nor tested any configurations that I list. I'm simply going off of what I've read.